16.09.2014, 10:32 UhrDeutsch | English
Hallo Gast [ Registrierung | Anmelden ]

Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Autor Nachricht
drb
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 24.06.2006, 20:21 Uhr



Anmeldung: 03. Jul 2004
Beiträge: 525

Does your Epson printer have a USB connection (mine has both parallel and USB) - it looks as if this problem is more to do with parallel printers.

drb

_________________
Kernel 2.6.21-slh-up-7
_____________________
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
2radical
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 24.06.2006, 21:00 Uhr



Anmeldung: 07. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 369
Wohnort: Port Angeles, Wa. USA
Zitat:
Does your Epson printer have a USB connection (mine has both parallel and USB) - it looks as if this problem is more to do with parallel printers.


Yes it does--I'd have to go get a cable--it'd be great if that's all there was to it. Smilie
I wonder how I'd have to configure /etc/cups/printers.conf? What other files would I have to change? A glimmer of hope appears.......

_________________
illegitimati non carborundum
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
drb
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 24.06.2006, 21:57 Uhr



Anmeldung: 03. Jul 2004
Beiträge: 525

I found I got the error with localhost:631 when I hadn't switched my USB printer on. Just switch the printer on, localhost:631, add printer - it should have recognised your printer as a USB Epson.

drb

_________________
Kernel 2.6.21-slh-up-7
_____________________
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
eco2geek
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 24.06.2006, 22:10 Uhr



Anmeldung: 02. Mai 2004
Beiträge: 471
Wohnort: Portland, OR, USA
It's been a while since I've printed anything. After several "dist-upgrade"s and a "dpkg-reconfigure cupsys", CUPS looked fine using the Web interface ("http://localhost:631" in a browser). What didn't work was the KDE printer subsystem (kcontrol > Peripherals > Printers) connecting to the CUPS server -- I got the same error that shame did.

But selecting Print Manager > Configure Manager... and going to the "CUPS Server" selection, and changing "/var/run/cups/cups.sock" to "localhost" in the "Host" field, seems to have solved the problem.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
2radical
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 24.06.2006, 22:28 Uhr



Anmeldung: 07. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 369
Wohnort: Port Angeles, Wa. USA
I went & bought a USB cable rebooted went to localhost:631 tried to add printer & SUPRISE SUPRISE it went to the same ***damn blank page I mentioned before. I always have to enter username & password twice to get there. What a joy. I tried entering localhost in the host field in configure manager changing /var/run/cups/cups.sock without success & and for an "unknown reason" This is ridiculous.....

Unable to retrieve the printer list. Error message received from manager:
Connection to CUPS server failed. Check that the CUPS server is correctly installed and running. Error: the IPP request failed for an unknown reason.

_________________
illegitimati non carborundum
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
2radical
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 24.06.2006, 22:38 Uhr



Anmeldung: 07. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 369
Wohnort: Port Angeles, Wa. USA
I just tried using KDE's print wizard & it went ok until I tried to supply a username--it wouldn't accept any I supplied.

_________________
illegitimati non carborundum
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
jiro
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 24.06.2006, 22:38 Uhr



Anmeldung: 27. Jun 2005
Beiträge: 258

2radical hat folgendes geschrieben::

I wonder how I'd have to configure /etc/cups/printers.conf?

Yes, I think your solution may be found here:

http://kanotix.com/PNphpBB2-viewtopic-t-18742-start-30.html

Zitat:
I hand edited printers.conf replacing the "usb://MINOLTA ... blah .. blah" DeviceURI with "file:/dev/usb/lp0".
(Note: only one slash after the "file:") "/dev/usb/lp0" is the location of my USB printer.


This was the fix for my USB printer. I have dist-upgraded several times since first doing this fix, and it still works fine. good luck...
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
schnorrer
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 24.06.2006, 23:40 Uhr



Anmeldung: 09. Jan 2006
Beiträge: 1721

@2radical:
with usblp. make sure the printer is started before! cupsd and before! starting the PC. make sure freeze-rc.d is not active.

Cupsd should start with S40cupssys or higher while usb should start long befor S10 or S20.
Even long after xprint foomatic or hpoj.

Parallel, USB does take a long time to initialize.

Do not take any driver, which came with version 1.1.xx of cups.

With most Ink-jet-printers you can use the generic-epson-fx.ppd if your printer does not appear to work correctly. or is not supported by the new driver.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
2radical
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 24.06.2006, 23:49 Uhr



Anmeldung: 07. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 369
Wohnort: Port Angeles, Wa. USA
My /etc/cups/printers.conf file gets deleted every time I reboot!! WHY?? Since when is a reboot supposed to delete system files? This is getting more ludicrous as time goes by. The Start page reads "Kanotix is a rock-solid Linux based on Debian-Sid......blahblah" Solid compared to what? Gas? Water? The ability to print should be an inherent basic capability of ANY distribution without having to go through endless configuration. I've spent an unconsciounable number of HOURS on this bull**** following every suggestion that has come down the pike to the best of my ability without resolve. Up until now I've been really happy with Kanotix, but this experience has really soured my opinion of it.

_________________
illegitimati non carborundum


Zuletzt bearbeitet von 2radical am 25.06.2006, 00:11 Uhr, insgesamt ein Mal bearbeitet
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
schnorrer
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 25.06.2006, 00:07 Uhr



Anmeldung: 09. Jan 2006
Beiträge: 1721

Cups version?

1.20.3 does it by default, I don't know why.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
2radical
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 25.06.2006, 00:23 Uhr



Anmeldung: 07. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 369
Wohnort: Port Angeles, Wa. USA
joyboy@WorldsEnd:~$ apt-cache policy cupsys
cupsys:
Installed: 1.2.1-3
"Cupsd should start with S40cupssys or higher while usb should start long befor S10 or S20.
Even long after xprint foomatic or hpoj. "
I'm afraid I don't know what you're talking about S10 or S20, and by "cupsd" do you mean cupsys?
I appreciate your guys help even though I haven't mentioned it...

_________________
illegitimati non carborundum
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
jiro
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 25.06.2006, 00:32 Uhr



Anmeldung: 27. Jun 2005
Beiträge: 258

2radical hat folgendes geschrieben::
My /etc/cups/printers.conf file gets deleted every time I reboot!! WHY??

just a guess, but maybe it gets deleted b/c it could not locate the printer as configured.

try this: remove & purge cups, reboot, reinstall cups, set up your USB printer, then hand-edit printers.conf as suggested. at this point (not before this point), hopefully you can test your printer to confirm that it works.

if this doesn't help, then i'm sorry but i have nothing further to suggest. btw: this is not a problem only with kanotix, try googling and you'll see the same with other distros
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
2radical
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 25.06.2006, 00:41 Uhr



Anmeldung: 07. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 369
Wohnort: Port Angeles, Wa. USA
jiro: I have googled & noticed that it's a problem w/other distros--I'm looking at RR4/RR64 lately.

_________________
illegitimati non carborundum
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
2radical
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 25.06.2006, 01:09 Uhr



Anmeldung: 07. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 369
Wohnort: Port Angeles, Wa. USA
I tried what you suggested but unfortunately, the same thing happened. I went to the blank localhost:631 screen again. KDE's wizard doesn't work either. This is an untenable situation. I'll give it a little more time, but then I'm off to something else, I'm afraid. What a pain in the ass. Thanks for your efforts--they have been appreciated, despite how PO'd I am.....

_________________
illegitimati non carborundum
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
2radical
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 25.06.2006, 02:41 Uhr



Anmeldung: 07. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 369
Wohnort: Port Angeles, Wa. USA
My latest GoogleResults 1 - 10 of about 3,870,000 for "can't print"
I guess I shouldn't feel like the Lone Ranger on this issue. It makes me wonder how in the hell this code got released? Doesn't any testing occur beforehand? It certainly gives MS more fuel in their war against GNU/Linux.

_________________
illegitimati non carborundum
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
piper
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 25.06.2006, 02:45 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 03. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 1544
Wohnort: out there somewhere
If it makes you feel any better windows too also has printer problems Smilie

I know it is not a cure, but thought that I would add it in.

_________________
h2's d-u script
h2's rdiff-backup script
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
jiro
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 25.06.2006, 03:48 Uhr



Anmeldung: 27. Jun 2005
Beiträge: 258

2radical: maybe you will find something useful here:
http://www.cups.org/str.php?L1738+P3+S-2+C0+I0+E0+Q

i agree that it's pretty bad for something as basic as printing does not function. that's why i maintain a dual-boot setup even though i use kanotix probably 90% of the time (except for at work where i must use windows)

piper: no, windows does not have similar printing problems or anything even approaching this. it has OTHER problems (security, etc) but the basic functionality does not break in this way
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
bluewater
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 25.06.2006, 03:52 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 04. Apr 2006
Beiträge: 153
Wohnort: Melbourne, Australia
2radical hat folgendes geschrieben::
I just tried using KDE's print wizard & it went ok until I tried to supply a username--it wouldn't accept any I supplied.


Same thing for me, eventually i tried "root" as the user name , then put in the root password.. My printer then fired up

_________________
Kanotix Easter RC4 on a dual boot P4 and a production box Desktop KDE::
Kanotix 2006 Easter RC4 on a P2 and Production Box , Desktop KDE::
Kanotix EasterRC4 on a MMX 199Mhz lappy
and a Production Box, Desktop ICEWM::
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
piper
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 25.06.2006, 03:53 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 03. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 1544
Wohnort: out there somewhere
jiro, I beg to differ, especially with XP, it is better now, much, but when XP first came out I was working as a tech and building computers and installing the software, it was in my opinion a nightmare for awhile Winken

_________________
h2's d-u script
h2's rdiff-backup script
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
drb
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 25.06.2006, 08:46 Uhr



Anmeldung: 03. Jul 2004
Beiträge: 525

I don't have any printing problems and I have the same cupsys version everyone else has. I started with 2005-04 and am fully d-ued . Does anyone who started with 2005-04 recently (using h2's script to dist-upgrade) rather than Easter-RC4 have printing problems?

drb

_________________
Kernel 2.6.21-slh-up-7
_____________________
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
2radical
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 25.06.2006, 19:53 Uhr



Anmeldung: 07. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 369
Wohnort: Port Angeles, Wa. USA
I had some partial success in that I was able to at least install my printer through the web interface http://127.0.0.1:631/ by using root as username and supplying a password, however when I try to test it nothing happens. At least there aren't error messages. My /etc/cups/printers.conf file survived rebooting, too so that's an improvement. I tried replacing "DeviceURI usb://EPSON/Stylus%20C60" in printers.conf with "file:/dev/usb/lp0" but that made things worse with error messages, so I switched it back. This is some improvement although like I say I still can't print anything.

_________________
illegitimati non carborundum
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
schnorrer
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 26.06.2006, 09:14 Uhr



Anmeldung: 09. Jan 2006
Beiträge: 1721

@2radidical, sorry for this late post. I ment cupsd and cupssys. cupssys ist the hwPart and cupsd ist the part between Progr and printers.

Cupssys as module should start after usb or lpd-Module and cupsd should start after the printer and his filters is online.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
2radical
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 26.06.2006, 17:20 Uhr



Anmeldung: 07. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 369
Wohnort: Port Angeles, Wa. USA
schorrer: Thanks for writing, but I'm afraid I don't understand what you're talking about unless you're referring to my modules list. lp and usblp are both loaded.
Module Size Used by
via 42464 1
drm 60308 2 via
video 13828 0
thermal 11144 0
processor 19272 1 thermal
fan 4100 0
container 4096 0
button 5904 0
battery 8324 0
ac 4356 0
af_packet 17800 2
efs 11396 0
lp 10888 0
fuse 33288 0
capability 4232 0
commoncap 6144 1 capability
snd_seq_dummy 3588 0
snd_seq_oss 29568 0
snd_seq_midi 7200 0
snd_seq_midi_event 7040 2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq 47184 6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_via82xx 23064 4
snd_ac97_codec 85792 1 snd_via82xx
snd_ac97_bus 2944 1 snd_ac97_codec
usblp 12160 0
tsdev 6976 0
snd_pcm_oss 37024 0
snd_mixer_oss 15360 1 snd_pcm_oss
shpchp 34088 0
via_agp 8704 1
agpgart 26444 2 drm,via_agp
snd_pcm 60932 6 snd_via82xx,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_oss
snd_timer 19332 3 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd_page_alloc 8328 2 snd_via82xx,snd_pcm
snd_mpu401_uart 7040 1 snd_via82xx
pci_hotplug 26820 1 shpchp
snd_rawmidi 20000 2 snd_seq_midi,snd_mpu401_uart
snd_seq_device 7180 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq,snd_rawmidi
ehci_hcd 29192 0
parport_pc 35940 1
parport 31304 2 lp,parport_pc
psmouse 34696 0
serio_raw 6148 0
i2c_viapro 8468 0
via_rhine 20484 0
8250_pnp 9344 0
8250 21684 1 8250_pnp
serial_core 17664 1 8250
snd 44100 15 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_via82xx,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,
snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device
via_ircc 19604 0
mii 5504 1 via_rhine
uhci_hcd 20488 0
usbcore 106496 4 usblp,ehci_hcd,uhci_hcd
soundcore 8160 1 snd
irda 113720 1 via_ircc
crc_ccitt 2816 1 irda
pcspkr 3456 0
analog 10656 0
gameport 12040 2 snd_via82xx,analog
evdev 8576 1

_________________
illegitimati non carborundum
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
schnorrer
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 26.06.2006, 22:35 Uhr



Anmeldung: 09. Jan 2006
Beiträge: 1721

Can be a buggy usbcore.

size:

yourse: 106496
mine: 107936

next what is missing but bound to usbcore is: ehci_ucd no modules within your listing. Try replacing usb dependend files.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
2radical
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 27.06.2006, 00:27 Uhr



Anmeldung: 07. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 369
Wohnort: Port Angeles, Wa. USA
Is ehci_ucd the usb 2.0 driver? I don't have that file. Is the correct command to insert it "insmod ehci_ucd" ?
The only usb dependent file I have to my knowledge is /dev/usb/lp0, which is a character device. It's permissions are crw-rw----
thanks, kurt

_________________
illegitimati non carborundum
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Beiträge vom vorherigen Thema anzeigen:     
Gehe zu:  
Alle Zeiten sind GMT + 1 Stunde
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 
 
Deutsch | English
Logos and trademarks are the property of their respective owners, comments are property of their posters, the rest is © 2004 - 2006 by Jörg Schirottke (Kano).
Consult Impressum and Legal Terms for details. Kanotix is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
This CMS is powered by PostNuke, all themes used at this site are released under the GNU/GPL license. designed and hosted by w3you. Our web server is running on Kanotix64-2006.