28.12.2014, 01:02 UhrDeutsch | English
Hallo Gast [ Registrierung | Anmelden ]

Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Autor Nachricht
2radical
Titel: problems installing  BeitragVerfasst am: 06.07.2006, 23:06 Uhr



Anmeldung: 07. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 369
Wohnort: Port Angeles, Wa. USA
No matter how many times I try with acpi etc on or off installation won't recognize the partition usage I want. the last part says "the autodetectede swapdrives /dev/hda2 /dev/hda3 will be used" I don't want hda2 to be a swapdrive. What I want is
hda1 /
hda2 /home
hda3 /swap
hda5 unsed (logical)

cfdisk shows
Name Flags Part Type FS Type [Label] Size (MB)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
hda1 Boot Primary Linux ReiserFS 10001.95
hda2 Primary Linux 20003.89
hda3 Primary Linux swap / Solaris 509.97
hda5 Logical Linux ReiserFS 5000.98
Logical Free Space 4499.23

root@0[knoppix]# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/hda: 40.0 GB, 40020664320 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4865 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 * 1 1216 9767488+ 83 Linux
/dev/hda2 1217 3648 19535040 83 Linux
/dev/hda3 3649 3710 498015 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hda4 3711 4318 4883760 5 Extended
/dev/hda5 3711 4318 4883728+ 83 Linux
root@0[knoppix]#

Additionally the install has been locking up so I have to reset & start all over. I've lost count how many times my install has failed--at least 5.

_________________
illegitimati non carborundum
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
piper
Titel: RE: problems installing  BeitragVerfasst am: 06.07.2006, 23:57 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 03. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 1544
Wohnort: out there somewhere
Have you tried

mkswap /dev/hda3

then

swapon -a

reboot

After reboot check fstab to make sure hda3 is indeed swap

_________________
h2's d-u script
h2's rdiff-backup script
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
h2
Titel: RE: problems installing  BeitragVerfasst am: 07.07.2006, 00:02 Uhr



Anmeldung: 12. Mar 2005
Beiträge: 1005

Make sure your cd rom was burned correctly, that means:

download, check md5 checksums
burn in Disk At Once mode, that is not the default in nero, k3b, must be set manually
burn at slow speed, 8x or so
burn using good quality media

once these are definitely done, take the new cd and boot with testcd cheat code
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
schnorrer
Titel: RE: problems installing  BeitragVerfasst am: 07.07.2006, 00:11 Uhr



Anmeldung: 09. Jan 2006
Beiträge: 1721

you can try cheating the bootup form CD with optional swapon /dev/hda3.

The swap-part. will be recognized by the installing process.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
mzilikazi
Titel: Re: problems installing  BeitragVerfasst am: 07.07.2006, 00:23 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 1109
Wohnort: Ganymede
2radical hat folgendes geschrieben::
No matter how many times I try with acpi etc on or off installation won't recognize the partition usage I want. the last part says "the autodetectede swapdrives /dev/hda2 /dev/hda3 will be used" I don't want hda2 to be a swapdrive. What I want is
hda1 /
hda2 /home
hda3 /swap
hda5 unsed (logical)

cfdisk shows
Name Flags Part Type FS Type [Label] Size (MB)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
hda1 Boot Primary Linux ReiserFS 10001.95
hda2 Primary Linux 20003.89
hda3 Primary Linux swap / Solaris 509.97
hda5 Logical Linux ReiserFS 5000.98
Logical Free Space 4499.23

root@0[knoppix]# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/hda: 40.0 GB, 40020664320 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4865 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 * 1 1216 9767488+ 83 Linux
/dev/hda2 1217 3648 19535040 83 Linux
/dev/hda3 3649 3710 498015 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hda4 3711 4318 4883760 5 Extended
/dev/hda5 3711 4318 4883728+ 83 Linux
root@0[knoppix]#

Additionally the install has been locking up so I have to reset & start all over. I've lost count how many times my install has failed--at least 5.


2 ideas come to mind:
Code:
su
mkreiserfs /dev/hda2

Then start the installer.

Personally, I always do my installations in text mode. You can start the installer like so:
CTRL+ALT+F1
Code:
su
kanotix-installer

After you've configured your installation Quit (be sure to SAVE it). Just let the installer say whatever it wants because you are about to overrule it by editing the /root/.knofig file to your liking. Then edit the .knofig file.
Code:
# cd
mcedit .knofig

After editing the .knofig file fire up the installer once again and it will by default read your .knofig.

Here is a .knofig for an example:
Code:
REGISTERED=' SYSTEM_MODULE SYSTEM_TYPE HD_MODULE HD_FORMAT HD_FSTYPE HD_CHOICE HD_MAP HD_IGNORECHECK SWAP_MODULE SWAP_AUTODETECT SWAP_CHOICES NAME_MODULE NAME_NAME USER_MODULE USER_NAME USERPASS_MODULE USERPASS_CRYPT ROOTPASS_MODULE ROOTPASS_CRYPT HOST_MODULE HOST_NAME SERVICES_MODULE SERVICES_START BOOT_MODULE BOOT_LOADER BOOT_DISK BOOT_WHERE INSTALL_READY'

SYSTEM_MODULE='configured'
# Determines if the system is a debian-derivate, a copy from CD or a nice mix of both
# Possible are: knoppix|beginner|debian
# Default value is: debian
SYSTEM_TYPE='debian'

HD_MODULE='configured'
# Determines if the HD should be formatted. (mkfs.*)
# Possible are: yes|no
# Default value is: yes
HD_FORMAT='yes'
# Sets the Filesystem type.
# Possible are: ext3|ext2|reiserfs|xfs|jfs
# Default value is: reiserfs
HD_FSTYPE='reiserfs'
# Here the Kanotix-System will be installed
# This value will be checked by function module_hd_check
HD_CHOICE='/dev/sda2'
# Here you can give additional mappings. (Experimental) You need to have the partitions formatted yourself and give the correct mappings like: "/dev/hda4:/boot /dev/hda5:/var /dev/hda6:/tmp"
HD_MAP='/dev/sda3:/home /dev/sda7:/usr /dev/sda8:/var'
# If set to yes, the program will NOT check if there is enough space to install Kanotix on the selected partition(s). Use at your own risk! Useful for example with HD_MAP if you only have a small root partition.
# Possible are: yes|no
# Default value is: no
HD_IGNORECHECK='yes'

SWAP_MODULE='configured'
# If set to yes, the swap partitions will be autodetected.
# Possible are: yes|no
# Default value is: yes
SWAP_AUTODETECT='yes'
# The swap partitions to be used by the installed Kanotix.
# This value will be checked by function module_swap_check
SWAP_CHOICES='/dev/sda1'

NAME_MODULE='configured'
NAME_NAME='mzilikazi'

USER_MODULE='configured'
USER_NAME='mzilikazi'

USERPASS_MODULE='configured'
USERPASS_CRYPT='\$1\$Rxzquboa\$VPr0Yk1q3Barj5sdh9DyM0'

ROOTPASS_MODULE='configured'
ROOTPASS_CRYPT='\$1\$DDJVuDkj\$EzM5/J.DWCdns3r0JX6ZP.'

HOST_MODULE='configured'
HOST_NAME='hestviken'

SERVICES_MODULE='configured'
# Possible services are for now: kdm cupsys smail ssh samba
# Default value is: kdm cupsys
SERVICES_START='gdm cupsys'

BOOT_MODULE='configured'
# Chooses the Boot-Loader
# Possible are: lilo|grub
# Default value is: grub
BOOT_LOADER='grub'
# If set to 'yes' a boot disk will be created!
# Possible are: yes|no
# Default value is: yes
BOOT_DISK='no'
# Where the Boot-Loader will be installed
# Possible are: mbr|partition
# Default value is: mbr
BOOT_WHERE='mbr'
INSTALL_READY='yes'

_________________
Ubuntu - An ancient African word for "Can't install Debian"
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
2radical
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 07.07.2006, 01:10 Uhr



Anmeldung: 07. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 369
Wohnort: Port Angeles, Wa. USA
OK thanks-- Smilie
I'll try these suggestions & post back

_________________
illegitimati non carborundum
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
schnorrer
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 07.07.2006, 01:20 Uhr



Anmeldung: 09. Jan 2006
Beiträge: 1721

somteimes the .knofig can found under ~/.knofig
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
2radical
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 07.07.2006, 03:33 Uhr



Anmeldung: 07. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 369
Wohnort: Port Angeles, Wa. USA
Thank you everybody for your help-- Sehr glücklich I finally got Easter installed. I did mkswap /dev/hda3 (which I did before w/out success) but w/out the -a switch. then I used the testcd boot option & it was OK. I did that check when I burned it. Then I edited /root/.knofig which was the key to getting rid of the install wanting to have 2 swap drives. Changes were:
HD_IGNORECHECK='no'
SWAP_CHOICES='/dev/hda3:/swap'
HD MAP='/dev/hda1:/ /dev/hda2:/home /dev/hda3:/swap
and I put a linefeed at the end. I don't know if that was necessary. I still am missing my cdrom device, I think due to enabling acpi & dma etc, but I'll work that out later. My dvd/rw in fstab is listed kinda funny--as /dev/cdrom instead as /dev/hdd. I haven't done a DU & don't intend to if my printer works which I haven't installed yet. I'm guessing that localhost:631 is the way to go?

root@WorldsEnd:/home/joyboy# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/hda: 40.0 GB, 40020664320 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4865 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 * 1 1216 9767488+ 83 Linux
/dev/hda2 1217 3648 19535040 83 Linux
/dev/hda3 3649 3710 498015 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hda4 3711 4318 4883760 5 Extended
/dev/hda5 3711 4318 4883728+ 83 Linux

root@WorldsEnd:/home/joyboy# cat /etc/fstab
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
usbfs /proc/bus/usb usbfs devmode=0666 0 0
/dev/hda1 / reiserfs defaults 0 1
/dev/hda2 /home reiserfs defaults 0 2
/dev/hda3 /swap auto defaults 0 2
/dev/hda5 /media/hda5 reiserfs defaults 0 0
/dev/cdrom /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0 0
/dev/fd0 /media/floppy0 auto rw,user,noauto 0 0

root@WorldsEnd:/home/joyboy# df
Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/hda1 9767184 1774268 7992916 19% /
tmpfs 241044 0 241044 0% /dev/shm
/dev/hda2 19534436 37004 19497432 1% /home
/dev/hda5 4883556 32840 4850716 1% /media/hda5
tmpfs 10240 120 10120 2% /dev

_________________
illegitimati non carborundum
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
2radical
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 07.07.2006, 04:58 Uhr



Anmeldung: 07. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 369
Wohnort: Port Angeles, Wa. USA
I don't believe it after all the frustration I've been through--I've finally got a system that works! I was able to install my printer with Control Center & unbelievably it WORKS!!

joyboy@WorldsEnd:~$ apt-cache policy cupsys
cupsys:
Installed: 1.1.23-15
Candidate: 1.2.1-3 **AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE**

joyboy@WorldsEnd:~$ uname -a
Linux WorldsEnd 2.6.16.16-kanotix-1 #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat May 13 03:12:36 CEST 2006 i686 GNU/Linux

Can anybody give me a good reason to dist-upgrade?

_________________
illegitimati non carborundum
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
schnorrer
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 07.07.2006, 10:21 Uhr



Anmeldung: 09. Jan 2006
Beiträge: 1721

D-U depend on Installing new files which needs newer version of some libs or not working modules. fixups....

you can solve notworking packages by pinning the related libs, progs. (freeze cups.... alsa......).

If these programms are known to run w/o errors you can remove the pinning on these progs.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
devil
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 07.07.2006, 10:31 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 06. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 3087
Wohnort: berlin
kurt,
if you do a d-u, put cups on hold before, otherwise your printing days are over.

greetz
devil

_________________
<<We are Xorg - resistance is futile - you will be axximilated>>

Host/Kernel/OS "devilsbox" running[2.6.19-rc1-git5-kanotix-1KANOTIX-2006-01-RC4 ]
CPU Info AMD Athlon 64 3000+ clocked at [ 803.744 MHz ]
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
mzilikazi
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 07.07.2006, 13:04 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 1109
Wohnort: Ganymede
Congrats 2radical. Smilie

schnorrer hat folgendes geschrieben::
somteimes the .knofig can found under ~/.knofig


The .knofig file lives in the home dir of the user who launched the installer so if you used sudo to run the installer then it is /home/knoppix/.knofig and if launched as root it is /root/.knofig

_________________
Ubuntu - An ancient African word for "Can't install Debian"
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Beiträge vom vorherigen Thema anzeigen:     
Gehe zu:  
Alle Zeiten sind GMT + 1 Stunde
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 
 
Deutsch | English
Logos and trademarks are the property of their respective owners, comments are property of their posters, the rest is © 2004 - 2006 by Jörg Schirottke (Kano).
Consult Impressum and Legal Terms for details. Kanotix is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
This CMS is powered by PostNuke, all themes used at this site are released under the GNU/GPL license. designed and hosted by w3you. Our web server is running on Kanotix64-2006.