21.10.2014, 21:46 UhrDeutsch | English
Hallo Gast [ Registrierung | Anmelden ]

Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Autor Nachricht
nitto
Titel: Perfect installation but some slight problem (issues??)  BeitragVerfasst am: 31.07.2006, 21:34 Uhr



Anmeldung: 31. Jul 2006
Beiträge: 81
Wohnort: Melbourne
First off, this is one of the best distro's I've used.... can't believe I didn't try it earlier, so a big congrats to everyone on this Sehr glücklich

I've installed kanopix 2005 / 04 without any hussle but I may have made an error somewhere along the partition line, 'cause after reboot, I have my "/" directory appear on the desktop as "hd1", 9.7GB media.

I've had my installation on my WD j8mb 80GB hdd as:

Primary partition hdh1
* reiserFS 9GB: / mount point
Ex partition hdh4
* reiserFS - hdh5 (10GB): /home
* reiserFS - hdh6 (15GB): /opt
* reiserFS - hdh7 (39GB): /data
* reiserFS - hdh8 (1GB): /var
* hdh9 (541.22mb): Swap

So seeing a 9.7GB media on my desktop after installation seems quite strange...

Any help / suggestions??

cheers
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden MSN Messenger  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
devil
Titel: Perfect installation but some slight problem (issues??)  BeitragVerfasst am: 31.07.2006, 21:59 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 06. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 3087
Wohnort: berlin
nitto,
besides that you have installed an old version, which is hard to upgrade, to solve the disk problem, please show output of fdisk -l (its a small L)

greetz
devil

_________________
<<We are Xorg - resistance is futile - you will be axximilated>>

Host/Kernel/OS "devilsbox" running[2.6.19-rc1-git5-kanotix-1KANOTIX-2006-01-RC4 ]
CPU Info AMD Athlon 64 3000+ clocked at [ 803.744 MHz ]
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
nitto
Titel: Re: Perfect installation but some slight problem (issues??)  BeitragVerfasst am: 31.07.2006, 22:16 Uhr



Anmeldung: 31. Jul 2006
Beiträge: 81
Wohnort: Melbourne
Old veersion?
I thought this was the latest one!! just downloaded Traurig
what is the latest version?

Also, fdisk -l (small L) had no output Frage
- - - - - - - -
nitto@Aurelie:~$ fdisk -l /dev/hda
nitto@Aurelie:~$ fdisk /dev/hda

Unable to open /dev/hda
nitto@Aurelie:~$
- - - - - - - -

devil hat folgendes geschrieben::
nitto,
besides that you have installed an old version, which is hard to upgrade, to solve the disk problem, please show output of fdisk -l (its a small L)

greetz
devil
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden MSN Messenger  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
ockham23
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 31.07.2006, 22:25 Uhr



Anmeldung: 25. Mar 2005
Beiträge: 2108

You have to become root first:
Code:
sux
fdisk -l


devil meant Easter-RC4, which is much easier to upgrade than 2005-04.

_________________
And I ain't got no worries 'cause I ain't in no hurry at all (Doobie Brothers, "Black Water").
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
nitto
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 31.07.2006, 22:50 Uhr



Anmeldung: 31. Jul 2006
Beiträge: 81
Wohnort: Melbourne
ahem Verlegen

root@Aurelie:/home/nitto# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/hdh: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hdh1 1 1175 9438156 83 Linux
/dev/hdh2 1176 9729 68710005 5 Extended
/dev/hdh5 1176 2480 10482381 83 Linux
/dev/hdh6 2481 4438 15727603+ 83 Linux
/dev/hdh7 4439 9529 40893426 83 Linux
/dev/hdh8 9530 9660 1052226 83 Linux
/dev/hdh9 9661 9729 554211 82 Linux swap / Solaris

Disk /dev/sda: 257 MB, 257425408 bytes
16 heads, 32 sectors/track, 982 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 512 * 512 = 262144 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 982 251376 e W95 FAT16 (LBA)


How stable is Easter-RC4 version?

cheers


ockham23 hat folgendes geschrieben::
You have to become root first:
Code:
sux
fdisk -l


devil meant Easter-RC4, which is much easier to upgrade than 2005-04.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden MSN Messenger  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
ockham23
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 31.07.2006, 22:55 Uhr



Anmeldung: 25. Mar 2005
Beiträge: 2108

http://debian.tu-bs.de/project/kanotix/preview/KANOTIX-2006-Easter-RC4.iso

_________________
And I ain't got no worries 'cause I ain't in no hurry at all (Doobie Brothers, "Black Water").
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
ockham23
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 31.07.2006, 23:08 Uhr



Anmeldung: 25. Mar 2005
Beiträge: 2108

Zitat:
How stable is Easter-RC4 version?

Actually, it's quite stable for a preview release. But I wouldn't use it to run a nuclear power plant. Winken

The only major issue I know of is with VIA onboard sound chips (e.g., VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller), which may cause the sound system driver to hang during start up. But there's a simple solution for this problem.

_________________
And I ain't got no worries 'cause I ain't in no hurry at all (Doobie Brothers, "Black Water").
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
devil
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 31.07.2006, 23:12 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 06. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 3087
Wohnort: berlin
nitto,
i guess, its just a matter of counting, 1gig being 100megs 01 1024 megs:
/dev/hdh1 1 1175 9438156 83 Linux

easter RC4 is stable here for months, but maybe just wait a little while and watch for news.
btw: how many distros live on that disk?
and on the others, this one being hdh?

greetz
devil

_________________
<<We are Xorg - resistance is futile - you will be axximilated>>

Host/Kernel/OS "devilsbox" running[2.6.19-rc1-git5-kanotix-1KANOTIX-2006-01-RC4 ]
CPU Info AMD Athlon 64 3000+ clocked at [ 803.744 MHz ]
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
nitto
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 01.08.2006, 03:17 Uhr



Anmeldung: 31. Jul 2006
Beiträge: 81
Wohnort: Melbourne
1 hdd (80GB) and 1 distro, which is Kanotix!

devil hat folgendes geschrieben::
nitto,
i guess, its just a matter of counting, 1gig being 100megs or 1024 megs:
/dev/hdh1 1 1175 9438156 83 Linux

greetz
devil
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden MSN Messenger  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
devil
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 01.08.2006, 06:27 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 06. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 3087
Wohnort: berlin
nitto,
i was just wondering, because your disk is hdh. if you have only one, it would be hda.

greetz
devil

_________________
<<We are Xorg - resistance is futile - you will be axximilated>>

Host/Kernel/OS "devilsbox" running[2.6.19-rc1-git5-kanotix-1KANOTIX-2006-01-RC4 ]
CPU Info AMD Athlon 64 3000+ clocked at [ 803.744 MHz ]
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
SaberBlaze
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 01.08.2006, 06:58 Uhr



Anmeldung: 22. Jun 2006
Beiträge: 49

Strange, I'm using the easter rc4 version and this version as well as the 2005-04 version both display incorrect partition sizes on the desktop icons, for example, my root partition is 7 gigs, it says 7.5 on desktop, my /home is 5.94 gigs, it says 6.4 on the desktop, and so on. I wonder why?
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
nitto
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 01.08.2006, 15:47 Uhr



Anmeldung: 31. Jul 2006
Beiträge: 81
Wohnort: Melbourne
Could it be due to the way I partitioned my hdd??
I created the root "/" in the primay partition then Extended the rest, which then divided into /usr /opt etc....

Is this the correct way to partition OR was it suppose to be all Primary Partitions?


devil hat folgendes geschrieben::
nitto,
i was just wondering, because your disk is hdh. if you have only one, it would be hda.

greetz
devil
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden MSN Messenger  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
mzilikazi
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 01.08.2006, 22:03 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 1109
Wohnort: Ganymede
nitto hat folgendes geschrieben::
Could it be due to the way I partitioned my hdd??
I created the root "/" in the primay partition then Extended the rest, which then divided into /usr /opt etc....

Is this the correct way to partition OR was it suppose to be all Primary Partitions?


I can see nothing wrong with the way you have partitioned your drive. It is fine to have only 1 primary and the rest logical drives in the extended partition. Linux does not care. It
seems to me that your desktop hdd icons are stupid or just lying to you. I dunno since I don't use them. What does the command df -h say?

The KDE users are forever mucking about with those desktop icons to get them to work right - I personally would not trust them. Winken

_________________
Ubuntu - An ancient African word for "Can't install Debian"
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
nitto
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 01.08.2006, 22:44 Uhr



Anmeldung: 31. Jul 2006
Beiträge: 81
Wohnort: Melbourne
mzilikazi hat folgendes geschrieben::

I can see nothing wrong with the way you have partitioned your drive. It is fine to have only 1 primary and the rest logical drives in the extended partition. Linux does not care. It
seems to me that your desktop hdd icons are stupid or just lying to you. I dunno since I don't use them. What does the command df -h say?


~$ df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/hdh1 9.1G 4.6G 4.5G 51% /
tmpfs 506M 0 506M 0% /dev/shm
tmpfs 10M 184K 9.9M 2% /dev
/dev/sda1 246M 201M 45M 82% /media/sda1
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden MSN Messenger  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
piper
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 01.08.2006, 22:50 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 03. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 1544
Wohnort: out there somewhere
mzilikazi hat folgendes geschrieben::
The KDE users are forever mucking about with those desktop icons to get them to work right - I personally would not trust them. Winken


LOL, The users or the icons Winken hehe

_________________
h2's d-u script
h2's rdiff-backup script
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
mzilikazi
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 02.08.2006, 06:07 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 1109
Wohnort: Ganymede
nitto hat folgendes geschrieben::
mzilikazi hat folgendes geschrieben::

I can see nothing wrong with the way you have partitioned your drive. It is fine to have only 1 primary and the rest logical drives in the extended partition. Linux does not care. It
seems to me that your desktop hdd icons are stupid or just lying to you. I dunno since I don't use them. What does the command df -h say?


~$ df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/hdh1 9.1G 4.6G 4.5G 51% /
tmpfs 506M 0 506M 0% /dev/shm
tmpfs 10M 184K 9.9M 2% /dev
/dev/sda1 246M 201M 45M 82% /media/sda1


Nope the icon wasn't lying was it? Verlegen

Now it would be wise to make backups of both /var & /home/<username> before continuing. Seriously - make a backup.

None of your other partitions are mounted. I don't know if this was a bug with the installer or just a simple error during installation. At any rate you don't need to reinstall. You can make it right. This is no more complicated than copying dirs & files from one place to another. Each partition needs to be listed in /etc/fstab or they won't get mounted. As root using your favorite editor edit /etc/fstab.

Code:
su
mcedit -b /etc/fstab

/dev/hdh5       /home           reiserfs defaults        0       0
/dev/hdh6       /opt           reiserfs defaults        0       2
/dev/hdh7       /data            reiserfs defaults        0       2
/dev/hdh8       /var            reiserfs defaults        0       2


You'll also need to copy the contents of /var and /home each to their respective partitions.
Code:
su
mount /dev/hdh5 /media/hdh5
cd /home
cp -a * /media/hdh5
mount /dev/hdh8 /media/hdh8
cd /var
cp -a * /media/hdh8


Now you must remove the contents of both /home & /var so that when you reboot all partitions are mounted and the correct data is in each one.

You did make backups right?

I do this in a bit of a redundant fashion but all it takes is one <space> in the wrong place and you can nuke your / !
Code:

CTRL+ALT+F1

Log in as root
Code:
init 2
cd /var
rm -rf * /var/*
cd /home
rm -rf /home/*
reboot


Good luck. If something gets hosed like oh I dunno from a typo on my part Mit den Augen rollen boot the live cd and make it right. Well this was typed at the end of a 15 hour day so......

Use your backups as necessary.

_________________
Ubuntu - An ancient African word for "Can't install Debian"
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
mzilikazi
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 02.08.2006, 06:10 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 1109
Wohnort: Ganymede
piper hat folgendes geschrieben::
mzilikazi hat folgendes geschrieben::
The KDE users are forever mucking about with those desktop icons to get them to work right - I personally would not trust them. Winken


LOL, The users or the icons Winken hehe


The users of course! Auf den Arm nehmen

_________________
Ubuntu - An ancient African word for "Can't install Debian"
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
nitto
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 03.08.2006, 13:50 Uhr



Anmeldung: 31. Jul 2006
Beiträge: 81
Wohnort: Melbourne
mzilikazi hat folgendes geschrieben::

...
You'll also need to copy the contents of /var and /home each to their respective partitions.
Code:
su
mount /dev/hdh5 /media/hdh5
cd /home
cp -a * /media/hdh5
mount /dev/hdh8 /media/hdh8
cd /var
cp -a * /media/hdh8

...


thanks for the help
I really appreciate this.... Smilie

now a slight problem with above command...
when I type :

mount /dev/hdh5 /media/hdh5

an error comes up as:

mount: you must specify the filesystem type

Is this where I specify, reiserFs????


and just a note that:

# mount -l

command brough up:

/dev/hdh1 on / type reiserfs (rw)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw,devmode=0666)
tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
tmpfs on /dev type tmpfs (rw,size=10M,mode=0755)


cheers
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden MSN Messenger  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
mzilikazi
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 03.08.2006, 14:11 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 1109
Wohnort: Ganymede
nitto hat folgendes geschrieben::


now a slight problem with above command...
when I type :

mount /dev/hdh5 /media/hdh5

an error comes up as:

mount: you must specify the filesystem type

Is this where I specify, reiserFs????



Seems like you have no filesystem on /dev/hdh5 so create one before trying to mount.
Code:
su
mkreiserfs /dev/hdh5


Now it should mount. Of course you'll need to do the same for any other partitions that have no filesystem on them.

_________________
Ubuntu - An ancient African word for "Can't install Debian"
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
nitto
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 05.08.2006, 16:47 Uhr



Anmeldung: 31. Jul 2006
Beiträge: 81
Wohnort: Melbourne
thanks for all the help Smilie

at the end, I just re-installed with the Easter-RC4 and after a second try, everything worked fine.
I think the source of the problem was the software package QTparted.
As suggested, I used the CFdisk to partition my hdd while working with the LiveCD of Easter-RC4 then formated the partitions with reiserFS. Installing from that point was only a 9min smooth transaction Smilie

One question is the partitions on the hdd.

After reading many pages on the web about this, I was still not clear on what is the better way to partition my hdd for Kanotix, so I used :
/
/home
/opt
/data
/var
Swap

but it seems, /opt and /data are almost entirely empty, whereas / and /var fairly full.

Is there a more optimum way to partition a 200GB hdd on a latest model system for a single user? (possible uses are games/video/data etc...)

cheers

_________________
____________________________
The reasonable man adapts himself to the world;
The unreasonable man persists in trying to adapt the world to himself.
Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man. (George Bernard Shaw)
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden MSN Messenger  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
arlekin
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 05.08.2006, 18:13 Uhr



Anmeldung: 21. Jun 2006
Beiträge: 193
Wohnort: Switzerland
Nitto,
I would suggest (and use myself) a partition table like this, "as complicated as needed, as simple as possible":

Code:
/
/home
/data

The reasoning: I prefer to keep the OS separate from my own files (but there's no need to divide the OS up, at least not in your or my case, I think); on the home partition I keep all the stuff I take as important (and backup very often); videos, music and other large files of less importance I store on the data partition.

_________________
Arlekin's Dream Ltd. | http://www.arlekin.ch/
- Bernd Villiger et al. | http://www.penguin.ch/
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
mzilikazi
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 06.08.2006, 05:22 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 1109
Wohnort: Ganymede
nitto hat folgendes geschrieben::


but it seems, /opt and /data are almost entirely empty, whereas / and /var fairly full.


/opt will fill in time. Some applications use this diretory e.g. openoffice.org. /data is not in any way part of the Linux filesystem heirarchy standard. Perhaps /data was suggested as a place to store files to be accessed by both Linux & windows? If I were to put any directory on another partition it would be /usr. That's going to fill up rather quickly. Everytime you install an application most of it goes directly into /usr. Here is my current partition table as an example.

Code:

Filesystem            Size     Used     Avail    Use%    Mounted on

/dev/sda2             957M     490M   468M    52%        /
tmpfs                 506M        0         506M     0%         /dev/shm
/dev/sda9              35G      28G      6.7G     81%        /home
/dev/sda6             957M     34M      924M   4%          /tmp
/dev/sda8             2.8G      1.6G     1.3G     55%         /var
/dev/sda10            9.4G     3.3G     6.1G     35%         /usr
/dev/sda13             38G     34G      3.3G     92%   /home/mzilikazi/Music
/dev/sda3             9.4G      6.7G     2.7G     72% /home/mzilikazi/Photos
tmpfs                  10M        148K     9.9M     2%         /dev


Zitat:
Is there a more optimum way to partition a 200GB hdd on a latest model system for a single user? (possible uses are games/video/data etc...)


That's largely a matter of opinion and preference. I've always liked multi-partition layouts but there is nothing that says you must use one.

Please look here for further info on FHS.

_________________
Ubuntu - An ancient African word for "Can't install Debian"
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
nitto
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 08.08.2006, 07:30 Uhr



Anmeldung: 31. Jul 2006
Beiträge: 81
Wohnort: Melbourne
I'm assuming that with all the partition suggestions above, Swap is still there, right?
I mean,
eg. /
/home
/data
/Swap

_________________
____________________________
The reasonable man adapts himself to the world;
The unreasonable man persists in trying to adapt the world to himself.
Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man. (George Bernard Shaw)
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden MSN Messenger  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
mzilikazi
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 08.08.2006, 13:27 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 1109
Wohnort: Ganymede
nitto hat folgendes geschrieben::
I'm assuming that with all the partition suggestions above, Swap is still there, right?
I mean,
eg. /
/home
/data
/Swap


Yes I do in fact also have a /swap partition.

_________________
Ubuntu - An ancient African word for "Can't install Debian"
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
nitto
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 09.08.2006, 11:16 Uhr



Anmeldung: 31. Jul 2006
Beiträge: 81
Wohnort: Melbourne
ok...
a follow up question!

Having a simpler form of partition scheme as:
/
/home
/data
/Swap

I get access violation problems when I try to save or write anything into /data partition. It's been owned by root and won't allow me to write anything into it.

How do I change this so that I can start using all the partitions!

cheers

_________________
____________________________
The reasonable man adapts himself to the world;
The unreasonable man persists in trying to adapt the world to himself.
Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man. (George Bernard Shaw)
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden MSN Messenger  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Beiträge vom vorherigen Thema anzeigen:     
Gehe zu:  
Alle Zeiten sind GMT + 1 Stunde
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 
 
Deutsch | English
Logos and trademarks are the property of their respective owners, comments are property of their posters, the rest is © 2004 - 2006 by Jörg Schirottke (Kano).
Consult Impressum and Legal Terms for details. Kanotix is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
This CMS is powered by PostNuke, all themes used at this site are released under the GNU/GPL license. designed and hosted by w3you. Our web server is running on Kanotix64-2006.