28.12.2014, 15:17 UhrDeutsch | English
Hallo Gast [ Registrierung | Anmelden ]

Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Autor Nachricht
spamhog
Titel: Brain Transplant - can I move Kanotix HD to a new comp?  BeitragVerfasst am: 09.09.2006, 17:19 Uhr



Anmeldung: 07. Sep 2006
Beiträge: 10
Wohnort: first floor, door on the right
I just built a new machine, but the Kanotix install on my old one is too nice to wantonly dump. Plus, the HD in the old machine might be a candidate for the new system anyway.

Is it possible to put the old HD into the new comp?

Judging from the scrolling stuff at boot, I am under the impression that HW recognition doesn't re-run at each boot - if this is indeed the case, can it be commanded to rerun on an installed system?

That would save quite some time.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ-Nummer 
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
devil
Titel: Brain Transplant - can I move Kanotix HD to a new comp?  BeitragVerfasst am: 09.09.2006, 18:02 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 06. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 3087
Wohnort: berlin
spamhog,
if you put it on the same controller as master/slave, as its been before, it will boot just fine.

greetz
devil

_________________
<<We are Xorg - resistance is futile - you will be axximilated>>

Host/Kernel/OS "devilsbox" running[2.6.19-rc1-git5-kanotix-1KANOTIX-2006-01-RC4 ]
CPU Info AMD Athlon 64 3000+ clocked at [ 803.744 MHz ]
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
ockham23
Titel: RE: Brain Transplant - can I move Kanotix HD to a new comp?  BeitragVerfasst am: 09.09.2006, 19:22 Uhr



Anmeldung: 25. Mar 2005
Beiträge: 2109

If you use a different graphics adapter you may have to edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf to get it to run properly. The lazy man's way to do this is to boot the new computer off the live cd and save a copy of /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 to a thumb drive. XF86Config-4 is generated by the hardware detection mechanism of the LiveCD, and you can use its device modules for your hard drive install too.

_________________
And I ain't got no worries 'cause I ain't in no hurry at all (Doobie Brothers, "Black Water").
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
spamhog
Titel: RE: Brain Transplant - can I move Kanotix HD to a new comp?  BeitragVerfasst am: 10.09.2006, 13:27 Uhr



Anmeldung: 07. Sep 2006
Beiträge: 10
Wohnort: first floor, door on the right
Cool! Thank you guys!

Call me dumb but I didn't think of getting the CD autoconfig into an installed system. I am still looking at Kanotix in a very magical way. This being Unix there had to be a nice bit of text that took care of that.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ-Nummer 
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
markb
Titel: RE: Brain Transplant - can I move Kanotix HD to a new comp?  BeitragVerfasst am: 10.09.2006, 23:35 Uhr



Anmeldung: 09. Aug 2004
Beiträge: 121
Wohnort: Brisbane Australia
Spamhog, consider also that it does not actually take that long to do a standard install of Kanotix from scratch anyhow. Then just copy all (or parts) of your old home dir to the new installation (or mount /home from a separate partition). I maintain a simple script which rsyncs the bits of my home area I want and I keep a list of some essential packages which I aptitude install immediately I build a new kanotix on a new disk or partition. I also grab some files+settings from /etc/*. It ony takes an hour or so and at least you get a nice new cleanly purged system.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
spamhog
Titel: RE: Brain Transplant - can I move Kanotix HD to a new comp?  BeitragVerfasst am: 14.09.2006, 09:48 Uhr



Anmeldung: 07. Sep 2006
Beiträge: 10
Wohnort: first floor, door on the right
Mark, I need to learn all that.

The very detailed and nicely laid out install journal I kept for my current system is 974 lines, including some bash and some cut and paste from various apps.

It documents a very broad selection of ways to muck up a system. Perhaps I should post it, so ppl won't leave some dumb procedure untried just because they didn't invent it independently.

I should be less concerned about the next install, yet almost 1000 lines of sweat & experiments sort of scares me.

That's why I also keep full system backups. Smilie
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ-Nummer 
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
DeepDayze
Titel: RE: Brain Transplant - can I move Kanotix HD to a new comp?  BeitragVerfasst am: 15.09.2006, 13:45 Uhr



Anmeldung: 08. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 299

Spamhog, also try h2's very great update script. It helps work thru some issues you might encounter during a distupgrade, such as Xorg and KDE transitions. You can also save your config files in /etc if you had some settings you made to get your apps/hardware working sweet in your old Kanotix install and transfer them to your new machine.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Beiträge vom vorherigen Thema anzeigen:     
Gehe zu:  
Alle Zeiten sind GMT + 1 Stunde
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 
 
Deutsch | English
Logos and trademarks are the property of their respective owners, comments are property of their posters, the rest is © 2004 - 2006 by Jörg Schirottke (Kano).
Consult Impressum and Legal Terms for details. Kanotix is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
This CMS is powered by PostNuke, all themes used at this site are released under the GNU/GPL license. designed and hosted by w3you. Our web server is running on Kanotix64-2006.