23.02.2018, 08:57 UhrDeutsch | English
Hallo Gast [ Registrierung | Anmelden ]

Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Autor Nachricht
ockham23
Titel: How to use beryl with Kanotix-LiveCD  BeitragVerfasst am: 07.10.2006, 17:57 Uhr



Anmeldung: 25. Mar 2005
Beiträge: 2126

While compiz is included with the Kanotix-2006-01-RC4 LiveCD, you have to install beryl manually. All you need is an Nvidia video card and an Internet connection. (Sorry, ATI isn't supported yet.) The following instructions are intended for LiveCD users but will also work on a hd install of 2006-01-RC4 if you skip the "fix-unionfs" command:

Make sure your computer is connected to the Internet, then open Konsole and enter:
Code:
su
fix-unionfs
update-scripts-kanotix.sh
mcedit /etc/apt/sources.list
Insert the following lines:
Code:
# Kanotix-Guide
deb http://kanotixguide.org/debian/ sid main contrib non-free
Hit F2 to save the file, F10 to return to Konsole. Then type
Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install beryl libxcomposite1
chvt 1
Hit any key to see the root prompt, then enter:
Code:
install-nvidia-debian.sh -c
This will download and install the Nvidia beta driver. The script takes about 30 secs to complete and will take you back to KDE. Open Konsole for user knoppix (not root!) and type
Code:
beryl-manager
This will launch beryl. If you see a red beryl symbol in the taskbar, you're ready to go.

Have fun with Kanotix!

_________________
And I ain't got no worries 'cause I ain't in no hurry at all (Doobie Brothers, "Black Water").
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
jbs1136
Titel: RE: How to use beryl with Kanotix-LiveCD  BeitragVerfasst am: 08.10.2006, 02:54 Uhr



Anmeldung: 15. Jul 2006
Beiträge: 136
Wohnort: Spanaway, Wa
Does this mean that we will be using beryl instead of compiz in the future? If compiz worked on RC3 then why can't we use it with RC4? Understand that I am new to Linux and am asking because I really don't understand why. Hey, I have to learn someway and this forum has been great so far. I have an ATI card and am anxious to get it working again. Also, why is beryl being used instead of compiz?

Thanks for any help,

John
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
ockham23
Titel: RE: How to use beryl with Kanotix-LiveCD  BeitragVerfasst am: 08.10.2006, 09:03 Uhr



Anmeldung: 25. Mar 2005
Beiträge: 2126

John, these instructions are for those who want to test beryl with Kanotix-2006-01-RC4. Unlike compiz, it isn't preinstalled on the cd, so I thought some help might be welcome. I tried compiz on a computer with an ATI video card and found it to be buggy (no text in dialog boxes, windows not responding to user input). Then I bought a cheap Nvidia video card and installed beryl, which is running much more stable.

I am neither a developer nor a member of the Kanotix team. So I don't know whether Kano will replace compiz with beryl and whether it will also support ATI video cards in the future. Right now both desktop managers are available for Kanotix, and users can choose between them. And if compiz were less buggy, the world would be perfect.

_________________
And I ain't got no worries 'cause I ain't in no hurry at all (Doobie Brothers, "Black Water").
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
jbs1136
Titel: RE: How to use beryl with Kanotix-LiveCD  BeitragVerfasst am: 08.10.2006, 15:11 Uhr



Anmeldung: 15. Jul 2006
Beiträge: 136
Wohnort: Spanaway, Wa
ockham23,

Thanks for the info. I must have missed compiz when I installed Kanotix-2006-01-RC4. I will go back and check to see what I did wrong. Thanks for your help.

btw, I am a doobie brothers fan also.

John
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
piper
Titel: RE: How to use beryl with Kanotix-LiveCD  BeitragVerfasst am: 08.10.2006, 15:49 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 03. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 1544
Wohnort: out there somewhere
John just type (grub menu screen) compiz (live cd) to enable it.

I wish compiz would come back, I thought it worked very well on my system, the only problem I had with it was the numpad keys didn't work, no strange artifacts, text worked fine, actually everything worked good, was and very fast, even games worked with no problems. I do understand that both compiz and beryl won't work for everyone and that everyone's system is different. I also understand that both are in the very early stages of what is going to be a good thing for eye candy for the people that love that sort of thing.

_________________
h2's d-u script
h2's rdiff-backup script
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
ed57
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 08.10.2006, 20:18 Uhr



Anmeldung: 03. Mar 2006
Beiträge: 4

Hi ockham23 and thanks a lot for your tip, it works fine in live-cd and on hard disk install Sehr glücklich
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
ockham23
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 08.10.2006, 21:10 Uhr



Anmeldung: 25. Mar 2005
Beiträge: 2126

You're welcome.

_________________
And I ain't got no worries 'cause I ain't in no hurry at all (Doobie Brothers, "Black Water").
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
jbs1136
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 10.10.2006, 04:42 Uhr



Anmeldung: 15. Jul 2006
Beiträge: 136
Wohnort: Spanaway, Wa
piper,

I obviously did something the first time around because I redid the compiz script and now everything works in RC4 just like it did in RC3. Even the numlock. If you turn off numlock, the number keys work. Odd but true. I discovered this typing in passwords. I guess if they ever get beryl for ATI I will give it a try but compiz is pretty cool. Some eye candy and easy desktop switching. Damn, as bad as I hate to say it, I am getting use to the keyboard again. Smilie

John
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
rich.bradshaw
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 17.10.2006, 22:42 Uhr



Anmeldung: 14. Jan 2006
Beiträge: 287

How do you make beryl start up with Kanotix instead of compiz?
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Beiträge vom vorherigen Thema anzeigen:     
Gehe zu:  
Alle Zeiten sind GMT + 1 Stunde
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 
 
Deutsch | English
Logos and trademarks are the property of their respective owners, comments are property of their posters, the rest is © 2004 - 2006 by Jörg Schirottke (Kano).
Consult Impressum and Legal Terms for details. Kanotix is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
This CMS is powered by PostNuke, all themes used at this site are released under the GNU/GPL license. designed and hosted by w3you. Our web server is running on Kanotix64-2006.