02.09.2014, 09:49 UhrDeutsch | English
Hallo Gast [ Registrierung | Anmelden ]

Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Autor Nachricht
lonewolf_timerwolf
Titel: Ethernet won't conect after installing  BeitragVerfasst am: 23.10.2006, 05:34 Uhr



Anmeldung: 23. Okt 2006
Beiträge: 4

Funny thing. I've got my laptop connected to my cable modem via my ethernet so far cause I haven't gotten my wireless to work yet. (That'll be further research with ndiswrapper)

The ethernet will work when using the livecd (which I'm using right now) Then I have to reboot to make changes, which until I fix it I won't be able to search the net until I reboot with the livecd. I have a realtek built in ethernet card. I use the netcardconfig program on the hdd installation, but it doesn't recognize the etherent. It calls its lan0 and my firewire port. I really don't even know where to start.

P.S. anybody know about Broadcom Corporation BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 03) I got numerous drivers from the ndis website but none of them work.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
arlekin
Titel: RE: Ethernet won  BeitragVerfasst am: 23.10.2006, 09:43 Uhr



Anmeldung: 21. Jun 2006
Beiträge: 193
Wohnort: Switzerland
In Kanotix, the ethernet interface you're looking for is named lan0 (not eth0, as would be common practice) Mit den Augen rollen

HTH
Birdy

_________________
Arlekin's Dream Ltd. | http://www.arlekin.ch/
- Bernd Villiger et al. | http://www.penguin.ch/
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
mdmarmer
Titel: RE: Ethernet won  BeitragVerfasst am: 23.10.2006, 13:07 Uhr



Anmeldung: 22. Mar 2006
Beiträge: 82
Wohnort: dayton, oh usa
Post back with vendor and model number of laptop, and card and chipset for ethernet ( lspci -vv will help )

Broadcom -- using ndiswrapper, you need to blacklist bcm43xx
(add as root to /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist)
blacklist bcm43xx

you can use the native driver bcm43xx (best with a 2.6.18 kernel)
blacklist ndiswrapper (add this to /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist as root)
install bcm43xx-fwcutter
run bcm43xx-fwcutter against your .sys driver file

set up with Kanotix network config (fish icon)

There have been many posts on this
you can search here or at http://www.ubuntuforums.org (search "Dapper Broadcom ndiswrapper howto" or "Dapper Broadcom bcm43xx howto" or "Dapper BCM4306 howto" on Ubuntu)

Be sure you are using 32-bit drivers for 32-bit install, 64-bit drivers for 64-bit install.
After installing drivers in ndiswrapper, type
ndiswrapper -l
good response is
driver installed, hardware present
it often helps to reboot

If having more problems post back and I'll help

Mike
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
lonewolf_timerwolf
Titel: RE: Ethernet won  BeitragVerfasst am: 23.10.2006, 21:03 Uhr



Anmeldung: 23. Okt 2006
Beiträge: 4

Its a Sager 8890 computer.
0000:03:03.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8169 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 10)
Subsystem: CLEVO/KAPOK Computer: Unknown device 0800
Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV+ VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B-
Status: Cap+ 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
Latency: 64 (8000ns min, 16000ns max), Cache Line Size: 0x20 (128 bytes)
Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 5
Region 0: I/O ports at 4000 [size=256]
Region 1: Memory at e8204800 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256]
Capabilities: [dc] Power Management version 2
Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=375mA PME(D0-,D1+,D2+,D3hot+,D3cold+)
Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-


Thanks for the Broadcom advice, now I know where to start! How do you learn all those command line tricks?
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
mdmarmer
Titel: RE: Ethernet won  BeitragVerfasst am: 24.10.2006, 03:01 Uhr



Anmeldung: 22. Mar 2006
Beiträge: 82
Wohnort: dayton, oh usa
The Realtek 8169 wired ethernet should work out of the box (as it did with the live CD) -- but you need to configure it

Did you click on the fish icon to configure it?

Mike

There's a Kanotix Wiki -- has something on Broadcom -- (a different chipset)

http://kanotix.com/index.php?module=pnW ... dcom1450en

and a Kanotix Manual

http://linux.kopporama.de/en/km_kanotix.html

Here's the section on configuring your network -- note that you do need to configure it -- "You must confirm with root privileges that you want access to the Internet."

http://linux.kopporama.de/en/km_config.html
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
lonewolf_timerwolf
Titel: RE: Ethernet won  BeitragVerfasst am: 25.10.2006, 19:51 Uhr



Anmeldung: 23. Okt 2006
Beiträge: 4

I tried clicking on the netcard configuration utility, both with the liveCD and hdd install. Something goes wrong when I use it though. When I use the utility it asks to select the network device (liveCD is eth0_Network_device_:90:F5:0D:F4:08_r8169, while hdd install is lan0) After I select the device it asks if I want to broadcast DHCP, I click "Yes" and then it asks if I want it to auto enable at boot. I click "Yes" and then it asks which network device I want to configure and starts all over again. The only way to stop that cycle is to click cancel. This happens on both the liveCD and the hdd install. I figured the realtek card would work because it works with everyother distro, but I really like this one!

I'm still working on the wireless, but the geology department at the school I go to only has ethernet jacks, no wireless as of yet. Sad for me Traurig Traurig
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
wh7qq
Titel: Re: RE: Ethernet won  BeitragVerfasst am: 25.10.2006, 20:28 Uhr



Anmeldung: 04. Jul 2005
Beiträge: 67
Wohnort: Hawaii
lonewolf_timerwolf hat folgendes geschrieben::
I click "Yes" and then it asks which network device I want to configure and starts all over again. The only way to stop that cycle is to click cancel. This happens on both the liveCD and the hdd install.


Not to labor the obvious but did you go ahead and click cancel and try the interface? It is normal (at least on my installs) for the DHCP configurator to behave that way and when you exit by clicking cancel, I've found the interface works fine.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
lonewolf_timerwolf
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 26.10.2006, 22:28 Uhr



Anmeldung: 23. Okt 2006
Beiträge: 4

This is weird. I reinstalled Kanotix just out of sheer frustration, and now my ethernet works! Sorry to have bugged everybody. I don't know what I did different.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Beiträge vom vorherigen Thema anzeigen:     
Gehe zu:  
Alle Zeiten sind GMT + 1 Stunde
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 
 
Deutsch | English
Logos and trademarks are the property of their respective owners, comments are property of their posters, the rest is © 2004 - 2006 by Jörg Schirottke (Kano).
Consult Impressum and Legal Terms for details. Kanotix is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
This CMS is powered by PostNuke, all themes used at this site are released under the GNU/GPL license. designed and hosted by w3you. Our web server is running on Kanotix64-2006.