23.10.2014, 10:11 UhrDeutsch | English
Hallo Gast [ Registrierung | Anmelden ]

Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Autor Nachricht
shame
Titel: RC6 Not installable  BeitragVerfasst am: 17.09.2007, 20:31 Uhr



Anmeldung: 16. Apr 2006
Beiträge: 207
Wohnort: England
When I try acrotix installer, everything goes through the setup phase but when I get the actaul installing bit I get loads of errors about things not being writable til it eventually fails with a message that there is no space left on device.

I'm trying to install on an empty 20GB partition.
I've burned the iso twice on different discs in DOA mode and md5 checks out fine.

_________________
sidux 32 & 64 | PCLinuxOS | PC-BSD
repository of shame - compiz fusion & beryl repo for debian Sid/Lenny/Etch | 32-bit | 64-bit
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Kano
Titel: RC6 Not installable  BeitragVerfasst am: 17.09.2007, 21:06 Uhr



Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 16275

check

dmraid -r

if you see an output put your controller in IDE not raid mode and delete RAID info using

dmraid -Er /dev/XXX
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
shame
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 17.09.2007, 22:12 Uhr



Anmeldung: 16. Apr 2006
Beiträge: 207
Wohnort: England
# dmraid -r
No RAID disks

I've now tried on 4 different partitions of varying sizes with the same problem.

_________________
sidux 32 & 64 | PCLinuxOS | PC-BSD
repository of shame - compiz fusion & beryl repo for debian Sid/Lenny/Etch | 32-bit | 64-bit
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Kano
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 17.09.2007, 22:19 Uhr



Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 16275

Hmm, very curious, check dmesg for errors. What does

hdparm -d /dev/hd?

show you?
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
shame
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 17.09.2007, 22:34 Uhr



Anmeldung: 16. Apr 2006
Beiträge: 207
Wohnort: England
Code:
# hdparm -d /dev/sda11

/dev/sda11:


I notice this in dmesg regarding the cdrom the kanotix cd is in:
Code:
[   20.656000] hdc: cdrom_decode_status: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
[   20.656000] hdc: cdrom_decode_status: error=0x40 { LastFailedSense=0x04 }
[   20.656000] ide: failed opcode was: unknown
[   20.664000] hdc: cdrom_decode_status: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
[   20.664000] hdc: cdrom_decode_status: error=0x40 { LastFailedSense=0x04 }
[   20.664000] ide: failed opcode was: unknown
[   20.664000] hdc: cdrom_decode_status: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
[   20.664000] hdc: cdrom_decode_status: error=0x40 { LastFailedSense=0x04 }
[   20.664000] ide: failed opcode was: unknown
[   20.664000] hdc: cdrom_decode_status: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
[   20.664000] hdc: cdrom_decode_status: error=0x40 { LastFailedSense=0x04 }
[   20.664000] ide: failed opcode was: unknown
[   20.664000] hdc: DMA disabled
[   20.664000] hdc: ide_intr: huh? expected NULL handler on exit
[   20.712000] hdc: ATAPI reset complete

Can't say I fully understand what it all means but I did try starting the cd with the nodma option but still can't install.

Also noticed this in konsole when I ran acritoxinstaller manually:
Code:
> copy_system_to_target
< /usr/share/acritoxinstaller/modules/common/03-install: line 26: -  : syntax er
ror: operand expected (error token is " ")
< <acritoxinstaller backend prompt>
> update_fstab_on_target
< /usr/share/acritoxinstaller/modules/common/04-postinstall: line 25: /media/hdi
nstall/etc/fstab: No such file or directory


And there are dozen's of similar entries refrring to various files.

_________________
sidux 32 & 64 | PCLinuxOS | PC-BSD
repository of shame - compiz fusion & beryl repo for debian Sid/Lenny/Etch | 32-bit | 64-bit
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Kano
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 17.09.2007, 22:42 Uhr



Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 16275

Use

hdc=none

as option, but you did not use the code i told you. You should not replace ? manually, bash does that for you.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
eco2geek
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 17.09.2007, 22:48 Uhr



Anmeldung: 02. Mai 2004
Beiträge: 471
Wohnort: Portland, OR, USA
shame hat folgendes geschrieben::
I've burned the iso twice on different discs in DOA mode

See, there's your problem right there. Winken

When you started the live CD, did you use some variation of the "unionfs" cheatcode?
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
shame
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 17.09.2007, 23:06 Uhr



Anmeldung: 16. Apr 2006
Beiträge: 207
Wohnort: England
Kano hat folgendes geschrieben::
Use

hdc=none

as option, but you did not use the code i told you. You should not replace ? manually, bash does that for you.


hdc=none didn't seem to make any difference.
Code:
# hdparm -d /dev/hd?

/dev/hdb:
 using_dma    =  1 (on)

/dev/hdc:
 using_dma    =  0 (off)

/dev/hdd:
 using_dma    =  1 (on)


@ eco2geek

I always thought dao was the correct mode to use with kanotix?
I haven't used any unoinfs or variation cheatcode

_________________
sidux 32 & 64 | PCLinuxOS | PC-BSD
repository of shame - compiz fusion & beryl repo for debian Sid/Lenny/Etch | 32-bit | 64-bit
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Kano
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 17.09.2007, 23:24 Uhr



Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 16275

Well you need at least hdc=none too, or just all, then you should have /dev/sd[a-c] an /dev/scd0 {or scd1 if there are only 2 hds). At least you should not get read errors in dmesg. Did you burn with verify?
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Kano
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 17.09.2007, 23:38 Uhr



Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 16275

Btw. you could install from another partition too, when your cdrom is bad. Also boot/install from usb stick is possible.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
shame
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 18.09.2007, 08:15 Uhr



Anmeldung: 16. Apr 2006
Beiträge: 207
Wohnort: England
Could you point me to some instructions on installing from another partition?

_________________
sidux 32 & 64 | PCLinuxOS | PC-BSD
repository of shame - compiz fusion & beryl repo for debian Sid/Lenny/Etch | 32-bit | 64-bit
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Kano
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 18.09.2007, 12:07 Uhr



Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 16275

you put the iso on another partition, lets say in an iso dir of another partition, then you use

fromiso=iso/KANOTIX*.iso

as bootoption and the parttiion should be found.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
shame
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 18.09.2007, 16:51 Uhr



Anmeldung: 16. Apr 2006
Beiträge: 207
Wohnort: England
Ah yes, I thought you meant I could install while within another running distro.

I did that with suse once but can't remember how.

_________________
sidux 32 & 64 | PCLinuxOS | PC-BSD
repository of shame - compiz fusion & beryl repo for debian Sid/Lenny/Etch | 32-bit | 64-bit
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
shame
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 19.09.2007, 00:59 Uhr



Anmeldung: 16. Apr 2006
Beiträge: 207
Wohnort: England
Tried the fromiso cheatcode.

It found the iso and booted into the desktop with no problems and everything appears to be working normally in live mode but the same problem when trying to install.

I then noticed I had the previously downloaded iso still on disk so I tried that.
Again, the same problem when trying to install.

So then I tried booting from the RC5 iso instead.
Same problem when trying to install.

So that rules out cd defects.

RC5 and RC6 (RC6 downloaded twice) both giving me the same problem and md5's match so I think I can rule out a corrupt download.

Tried to install onto 3 different partitions, same problem.

Looking through dmesg I can't find any problems now, other than some complaints about
my PC-BSD partition, which I would expect anyway.

Maybe kanotix doesn't like my hardware? Though previous kanotix versions have had no problems, neither have dozens of other distros.

I really can't work out what the problem is.

<EDIT>
Incidentally, is there a 64-bit iso?

_________________
sidux 32 & 64 | PCLinuxOS | PC-BSD
repository of shame - compiz fusion & beryl repo for debian Sid/Lenny/Etch | 32-bit | 64-bit
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Kano
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 19.09.2007, 01:39 Uhr



Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 16275

The kernel might be not ideal for your pc. RC5 has a completely different kernel, not RC5D, that was similar. I did not compile 64 bit yet. Would be too time consuming currently. Do you want to install from iso or from usb stick?
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
shame
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 19.09.2007, 02:13 Uhr



Anmeldung: 16. Apr 2006
Beiträge: 207
Wohnort: England
But since it runs perfectly fine in live mode I assume the kernel is fine, I can access and write to other partitions. The only problem I'm having is installing to hard drive, it seems it's having trouble reading it and thinks it's read only and/or full.

I'm wanting to install from iso as both my usb stick appear to be broken and I'm not sure when I will get around to getting a new one.

_________________
sidux 32 & 64 | PCLinuxOS | PC-BSD
repository of shame - compiz fusion & beryl repo for debian Sid/Lenny/Etch | 32-bit | 64-bit
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Kano
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 19.09.2007, 02:26 Uhr



Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 16275

Well then use the above cheatcode

fromiso=dir/KANOTIX*.iso

You don't need to specify the partition, it will be found automatically, just write correct dir name.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
eco2geek
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 19.09.2007, 06:24 Uhr



Anmeldung: 02. Mai 2004
Beiträge: 471
Wohnort: Portland, OR, USA
shame hat folgendes geschrieben::
@ eco2geek

I always thought dao was the correct mode to use with kanotix?
I haven't used any unoinfs or variation cheatcode

It was an attempt at humor -- above, you wrote "DOA" (= Dead On Arrival) instead of DAO.

It was the unionfs cheatcode that caused the installer to fail for me. Otherwise, I've installed it on an external USB HDD (multiple times for multiple RC's) and a laptop w/no problems. Sorry to hear it's not working for you.

Now, if you could package a version of Compiz Fusion that worked with Etch...
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
shame
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 19.09.2007, 08:36 Uhr



Anmeldung: 16. Apr 2006
Beiträge: 207
Wohnort: England
"DOA", hehe, that actually seems more accurate at the moment Sehr glücklich

I'm going to burn the iso again and try it on another computer when I get the chance just to see if it is a problem with my hardware or not, I can't see what else it can be.

Regarding compiz fusion, I'm working on it, I have a straight Etch install.
Everything builds and installs ok but it's not running, appears to be something to do with libwnck, maybe the Etch version is too low.
But if it can be done I'll do it.

The biggest downer though is that there's no way the settings manager or fusion icon will work on Etch because they need python-gtk2 >=2.10

_________________
sidux 32 & 64 | PCLinuxOS | PC-BSD
repository of shame - compiz fusion & beryl repo for debian Sid/Lenny/Etch | 32-bit | 64-bit
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
shame
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 21.09.2007, 09:36 Uhr



Anmeldung: 16. Apr 2006
Beiträge: 207
Wohnort: England
Dusted off my old computer to try installing kanotix on that but the hard drive is dead so I can't test it.

Did try the newly downloaded iso again on my main box but still getting the same problem. Looks like installing kanotix is out of the question for me.

Can I convert an Etch install to kanotix without any problems?

_________________
sidux 32 & 64 | PCLinuxOS | PC-BSD
repository of shame - compiz fusion & beryl repo for debian Sid/Lenny/Etch | 32-bit | 64-bit
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Kano
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 21.09.2007, 09:56 Uhr



Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 16275

Well the thorhammer repository has hal+halinfo, when you put hal on hold maybe, otherwise you need a new kernel. And this does not run on your system so well it seems.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
shame
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 22.09.2007, 16:31 Uhr



Anmeldung: 16. Apr 2006
Beiträge: 207
Wohnort: England
Had one last attempt using noapic nolapic etc but still the same issue.

I'm wondering what exactly this error means:
Code:
/usr/share/acritoxinstaller/modules/common/03-install: line 26: -  : syntax error: operand expected (error token is " ")

It's the very first error spat out by acritoxinstaller.
It sounds more like a typo or something in the installer module than anything else but if that was the case I'm sure others would be having this problem.

_________________
sidux 32 & 64 | PCLinuxOS | PC-BSD
repository of shame - compiz fusion & beryl repo for debian Sid/Lenny/Etch | 32-bit | 64-bit
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
shame
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 28.09.2007, 06:02 Uhr



Anmeldung: 16. Apr 2006
Beiträge: 207
Wohnort: England
There is a discussion of Thorhammer RC6 over on sidux forum and a user there has reported the exact same problem as me.
The user has reported he got it to install after removing his usb hub.

I happen to have a usb hub connected so when I get time I'll be trying the install again after disconnecting it... Sehr glücklich

_________________
sidux 32 & 64 | PCLinuxOS | PC-BSD
repository of shame - compiz fusion & beryl repo for debian Sid/Lenny/Etch | 32-bit | 64-bit
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Daddy-G
Titel: Problems with installer  BeitragVerfasst am: 28.09.2007, 06:38 Uhr



Anmeldung: 01. Mar 2005
Beiträge: 1412

It is better to move that discussion to here, not a good idea to discuss problems of installing thorhammer in the sidux forum:
gs wrote:
Zitat:
I could successfully install Thorhammer on serveral partitions until, suddenly, I also got messages from the installer that there is no more space on device......
I tried a whole day with different cheatcodes - the solution was to unplug an usb-hub. Installation went smoothly thereafter......

I had other experience:
Zitat:

I installed Thorhammer some time (from iso on hd) for testing and I know the problem with "no disk space"
Its a a curious thing. I tried to install it on /hda14. I tried it with ext3, Reiserfs, formated before and during Installation. Kano said (in German forum) let it format when no update install, but hda14 was formated successful during installation. Only following Thorhammer to Hd didn't work.
Nethertheless the problem wasn't reported in the forum, only once. Many others didn't seem to have any problem with the installer.

So I tried it later with hda9 and I was successful. Installation went smoothly and fast, no probs.

With hda14 I have no problems when I use it for other things. When I tried to use hda14 for /home-partition of thorhammer it wasn't possible again. No idea what's different whith hda14, so I couldn't report it to acritox.

_________________
Kanotix-Hellfire on Medion Akoya
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
blac
Titel: Install failure  BeitragVerfasst am: 02.10.2007, 01:53 Uhr



Anmeldung: 15. Sep 2005
Beiträge: 3

Hey folks,

About a full day of failures trying to install ThorHammer to an sata (ext3) partition, seeing the same/similar errors as others have been seeing with "acritox installer", mainly "syntax" errors in stage3 and "no space left" errors on stage 4, after very good bootup from cd and fromiso.

Finally dropped in a fresh install of KANOTIX-2006-01-RC4.iso (fromiso) and ran an "update install" from ThorHammer (fromiso), and all went hunky-dory. The update went very smoothly without issue. Would think someone else has also discovered this, but, in case not, this worked for me.

blac
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Beiträge vom vorherigen Thema anzeigen:     
Gehe zu:  
Alle Zeiten sind GMT + 1 Stunde
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 
 
Deutsch | English
Logos and trademarks are the property of their respective owners, comments are property of their posters, the rest is © 2004 - 2006 by Jörg Schirottke (Kano).
Consult Impressum and Legal Terms for details. Kanotix is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
This CMS is powered by PostNuke, all themes used at this site are released under the GNU/GPL license. designed and hosted by w3you. Our web server is running on Kanotix64-2006.