01.08.2014, 15:19 UhrDeutsch | English
Hallo Gast [ Registrierung | Anmelden ]

Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Autor Nachricht
coyotl
Titel: root authentication in KDE4  BeitragVerfasst am: 20.06.2011, 11:15 Uhr



Anmeldung: 05. Apr 2011
Beiträge: 59
Wohnort: Norway
How about fixing that?
(I realize it's a loose end in kde4)
Feels a little primitive to have to launch Systemsettings through terminal and sux root Mit den Augen rollen
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
TheOne
Titel: root authentication in KDE4  BeitragVerfasst am: 20.06.2011, 23:05 Uhr



Anmeldung: 15. Mar 2008
Beiträge: 610

That is part of newer upstream KDE versions. You could not expect all the new stuff from upstream right now in Debian stables KDE version.

But you don't need a terminal to execute the systemsettings as root. Just use Alt+F2 and enter
Code:
kdesu systemsettings
Btw. what do you want to change there that need root priviliges? Maybe there is a better way to do it.

Cheers, TheOne

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad X220 | Core i7-2640M 16GB | Hellfire 3.6
FSC Tablet T4220 | Core2 Duo T7250 2GHz 3GB | Intel GMA X3100 | Hellfire 3.6
Clevo M570U | Core2 T7200 2GHz 2GB | Geforce Go 7950gtx | Hellfire 3.2
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
coyotl
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 21.06.2011, 01:14 Uhr



Anmeldung: 05. Apr 2011
Beiträge: 59
Wohnort: Norway
Thanks that worked on this machine (32 bit Hellfire).
On my other pc, main workstation it did not -any attempt to start a program with root privileges had to go through terminal + sux root.
I needed to fix the system clock/time zone settings.

The other pc is now running ubuntu but only temporarily - I just never got that installation right, was from RC6 and I messed around because of a wifi/3g problem etc.
will get it right with the latest version -its just that i have to download on my free 'broadband' which gives 12-13 kb/sec.
19 hours left last time i checked, just left it on before leaving town
mobile internet can get up to ca. 200 but that is limited to 6gb month.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Beiträge vom vorherigen Thema anzeigen:     
Gehe zu:  
Alle Zeiten sind GMT + 1 Stunde
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 
 
Deutsch | English
Logos and trademarks are the property of their respective owners, comments are property of their posters, the rest is © 2004 - 2006 by Jörg Schirottke (Kano).
Consult Impressum and Legal Terms for details. Kanotix is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
This CMS is powered by PostNuke, all themes used at this site are released under the GNU/GPL license. designed and hosted by w3you. Our web server is running on Kanotix64-2006.