22.10.2014, 15:47 UhrDeutsch | English
Hallo Gast [ Registrierung | Anmelden ]

Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Autor Nachricht
HK-47
Titel: weird adsl problem  BeitragVerfasst am: 25.06.2006, 16:18 Uhr



Anmeldung: 25. Jun 2006
Beiträge: 56

my adsl connection was set up by my isp so that i would need to use a PPPoE dialer. in windows, i use XP's PPPoE dialer and the connection works perfectly.

i'm running kanotix 2005-04 from a live-CD, and it detected my NIC (nForce3 250) perfectly. then i used "my PPPoE config" and it appears to connect succesfully. the KDE network monitors even show up for both eth0 and ppp0. but even after that i still can't access the internet. i haven't even turned on the firewall yet, so that's not likely to be the problem. what do you think could be the problem?

thanks!
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
ockham23
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 25.06.2006, 16:48 Uhr



Anmeldung: 25. Mar 2005
Beiträge: 2108

After booting off the live cd, go directly to "My PPPoE Conf" from the Kanotix menu; do not configure your NIC first. Once you're done setting up your PPPoE connection, there should be only one device symbol for ppp0.

Otherwise you'll end up with two Internet gateway entries, and Kanotix will attempt connecting via eth0 instead of ppp0.

_________________
And I ain't got no worries 'cause I ain't in no hurry at all (Doobie Brothers, "Black Water").
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
HK-47
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 26.06.2006, 15:09 Uhr



Anmeldung: 25. Jun 2006
Beiträge: 56

the thing is, eth0 gets configured automatically at startup even if i don't configure my NIC manually. is there a command to turn the eth0 connectionoff, and can i use PPPoE without it?

anyway, i ran ifconfig and this is what i got:

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:EC:34:87:C3
inet addr:192.168.1.33 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:35 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:55 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:3591 (3.5 KiB) TX bytes:4511 (4.4 KiB)
Interrupt:10 Base address:0x8000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:100 (100.0 b) TX bytes:100 (100.0 b)

ppp0 Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
inet addr:210.213.159.36 P-t-P:210.213.156.1 Mask:255.255.255.255
UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1492 Metric:1
RX packets:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:5 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
RX bytes:435 (435.0 b) TX bytes:97 (97.0 b)



i don't really know what all of this means (networking noob), but maybe this will give a clue as to what's wrong?
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
ockham23
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 26.06.2006, 16:28 Uhr



Anmeldung: 25. Mar 2005
Beiträge: 2108

Do you have a router or a DHCP server in your network that automatically assigns IP addresses to other computers in the network? (This could even be a win machine with internet connection sharing enabled.) If so, try to disconnect it from your LAN before booting off the live cd. Alternatively, unplug the ethernet cable before booting, and reconnect it when you see the KDE screen. (This will prevent eth0 from sending a dhcp request to the router during start up.)

Then complete PPPoE setup and check /etc/resolv.conf for nameserver entries and /etc/network/interfaces for gateway entries.

P.S.: If there is a router in your network, chances are you can also use it as an Internet gateway. Do you have Internet access through eth0 without setting up a PPPoE connection?

_________________
And I ain't got no worries 'cause I ain't in no hurry at all (Doobie Brothers, "Black Water").
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
HK-47
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 27.06.2006, 14:11 Uhr



Anmeldung: 25. Jun 2006
Beiträge: 56

it worked! i turned my modem on only when bootup was completed, used the PPPoE dialer, and i finally had internet access. man, i feel stupid for not having tried that before.

thanks a lot! Sehr glücklich
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Beiträge vom vorherigen Thema anzeigen:     
Gehe zu:  
Alle Zeiten sind GMT + 1 Stunde
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 
 
Deutsch | English
Logos and trademarks are the property of their respective owners, comments are property of their posters, the rest is © 2004 - 2006 by Jörg Schirottke (Kano).
Consult Impressum and Legal Terms for details. Kanotix is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
This CMS is powered by PostNuke, all themes used at this site are released under the GNU/GPL license. designed and hosted by w3you. Our web server is running on Kanotix64-2006.