02.09.2014, 10:50 UhrDeutsch | English
Hallo Gast [ Registrierung | Anmelden ]

Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Autor Nachricht
wavetel
29 Titel: Samba is lost !  BeitragVerfasst am: 06.09.2006, 16:07 Uhr



Anmeldung: 03. Sep 2006
Beiträge: 8

Geschockt
I had SAMBA working for quite a while but after I did some APT-GET install of other packages the other day it seems to have become broken. Funny as none of the apps I installed actually relate to networking directly. Ive just sorted out CUPs problems as well due to the installs. As far as I know my Samba config works fine and allways did.

Lisa still works and I can brouse the windows machines with Lisa ok.
If I go into Konqueror - network folders - Samba shares I actually see a Windows workgroup at SMB:/
but when I try and open the windows work group I get a Konqueror error message.
The error Box reads
Internal Error
Please send a full bug report at http://bugs.kde.org
Unknown error condition in stat: Connection timed out

Now just looking at what Ive got with Konqueror v3.4.3-3 there appears to be an update available to about 35Megs worth of download.
When I look at what dependancies are involved with this Konqueror v 3.5.4-2 update it amounts to 22 packages including K3B Kdesktop KDM Kicker to mention just some.
These packages are pretty major and the level of terror could be high going by what I experienced recently with CUPs .. I feel like I could Fix Samba and break alot of other stuff in the process.. I am not game to upgrade Konqueror frankly unless Ive checked other avenues out in trying to UnBroke Samba.

Any ideas ??
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
piper
Titel: RE: Samba is lost !  BeitragVerfasst am: 06.09.2006, 17:16 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 03. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 1544
Wohnort: out there somewhere
Maybe try (worth a try)

apt-get install samba/testing samba-common/testing smbfs/testing smbclient/testing

then:

echo samba hold |dpkg --set-selections

_________________
h2's d-u script
h2's rdiff-backup script
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
bluewater
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 06.09.2006, 17:22 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 04. Apr 2006
Beiträge: 153
Wohnort: Melbourne, Australia
hhhhhhmm Samba may not be 'turned on" at boot up

in console as root

unfreeze-rc.d
rcconf

a blue box comes up, arrow down to samba and use the space bar to put in an "*" (asterisk)

tab to OK
hit enter

freeze-rc.d

Samba should now commence on boot-up

_________________
Kanotix Easter RC4 on a dual boot P4 and a production box Desktop KDE::
Kanotix 2006 Easter RC4 on a P2 and Production Box , Desktop KDE::
Kanotix EasterRC4 on a MMX 199Mhz lappy
and a Production Box, Desktop ICEWM::
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Beiträge vom vorherigen Thema anzeigen:     
Gehe zu:  
Alle Zeiten sind GMT + 1 Stunde
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 
 
Deutsch | English
Logos and trademarks are the property of their respective owners, comments are property of their posters, the rest is © 2004 - 2006 by Jörg Schirottke (Kano).
Consult Impressum and Legal Terms for details. Kanotix is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
This CMS is powered by PostNuke, all themes used at this site are released under the GNU/GPL license. designed and hosted by w3you. Our web server is running on Kanotix64-2006.