02.09.2014, 12:48 UhrDeutsch | English
Hallo Gast [ Registrierung | Anmelden ]

Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Autor Nachricht
spottyrover
Titel: alsa keeps disapearing after installing kernel 2.6.16  BeitragVerfasst am: 15.06.2006, 11:18 Uhr



Anmeldung: 11. Apr 2005
Beiträge: 137

after installing kernel 2.6.16 I have to keep reconfiguring alsa after shutting down
here is what I am doing


Code:
su
password
alsaconf

I then reboot so I can use the sound mixer Kmix

my pc is GA-K8NS ultra-939 (nforce 3) I am using the on board sound.
I do not understand how it can be there for a reboot but not the next day.

thanks dave
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
bluewater
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 16.06.2006, 06:13 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 04. Apr 2006
Beiträge: 153
Wohnort: Melbourne, Australia
after alsaconf and your sound is working do:

alsactl store

_________________
Kanotix Easter RC4 on a dual boot P4 and a production box Desktop KDE::
Kanotix 2006 Easter RC4 on a P2 and Production Box , Desktop KDE::
Kanotix EasterRC4 on a MMX 199Mhz lappy
and a Production Box, Desktop ICEWM::
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
spottyrover
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 16.06.2006, 10:29 Uhr



Anmeldung: 11. Apr 2005
Beiträge: 137

thanks I will give it a go
dave
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
spottyrover
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 19.06.2006, 10:24 Uhr



Anmeldung: 11. Apr 2005
Beiträge: 137

bluewater I tried "alsactl store" after making sure that it was working at the time
and it worked after the reboot but 2 days later alsa was back to only finding only the tv card and not the audio on the motherboard

any other ideas
Dave
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
schnorrer
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 19.06.2006, 13:25 Uhr



Anmeldung: 09. Jan 2006
Beiträge: 1721

Have you done this as user or root? with user and sux it changes only the cache. as root it chenges the right files not in cache.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
spottyrover
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 21.06.2006, 02:46 Uhr



Anmeldung: 11. Apr 2005
Beiträge: 137

in user i
su
password
alsaconf
reboot
su
alsactl store

1) I have not seen sux before what is it?
2) If I need to chane to a root user I have a bigger problem as if i do ctrl alt f1 I get a screen with green squares in it
ctrl alt f2-6 leaves the screen blank and ctrl alt f7 gets me back to the user screen
3) if i remember correctly i can not log in directly as root gui or terminal as i get the green squares

thanks for your help guys
Dave
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
schnorrer
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 21.06.2006, 15:01 Uhr



Anmeldung: 09. Jan 2006
Beiträge: 1721

1) sux is su with extensions.

alsaconf and alsa store can be done in a window-rootshell no need to be without kde(gnome,otherWM)
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
nitto
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 13.09.2006, 08:21 Uhr



Anmeldung: 31. Jul 2006
Beiträge: 81
Wohnort: Melbourne
I have the similar problem that's keep re-occuring.
I set up the sound card wtih
su - password
alsaconf
then alsactl store.
It works for few reboots then stops working in the following reboot, then I have to re-do the whole process...
Is there a practical solutions for this!

_________________
____________________________
The reasonable man adapts himself to the world;
The unreasonable man persists in trying to adapt the world to himself.
Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man. (George Bernard Shaw)
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden MSN Messenger  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
kenyee
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 13.09.2006, 15:21 Uhr



Anmeldung: 21. Jan 2006
Beiträge: 185

I'll bet you have the same retarded problem I did. Do cat /proc/asound/devices and you'll see that it only sees the cx88_alsa device. If you search the forum, you'll find my annoyance w/ this and my workaround, which sadly you have to do after every reboot. It's a bug in the snd-hda-intel driver because it can't register itself once cx88_alsa takes over the first asound slot...
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
spottyrover
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 14.09.2006, 13:33 Uhr



Anmeldung: 11. Apr 2005
Beiträge: 137

1) if you turn off the audio in the control center ( i still get audio for tv viewing and mps playback) I then get a choice of the cx88 and the nvidia driver in kmixer
2) kenyee could you post your fix?

thanks

dave
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
kenyee
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 14.09.2006, 15:51 Uhr



Anmeldung: 21. Jan 2006
Beiträge: 185

Strange...couldn't find it via the via this site's search engine.

I also posted it on avsforum:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthre ... =cx88_alsa

If you know who to report the bug to, let me know. I tried reporting it to the ALSA mailing list, but no one thought it was a bug Auf den Arm nehmen
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
nitto
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 15.09.2006, 08:39 Uhr



Anmeldung: 31. Jul 2006
Beiträge: 81
Wohnort: Melbourne
kenyee hat folgendes geschrieben::
I'll bet you have the same retarded problem I did. Do cat /proc/asound/devices and you'll see that it only sees the cx88_alsa device. If you search the forum, you'll find my annoyance w/ this and my workaround, which sadly you have to do after every reboot. It's a bug in the snd-hda-intel driver because it can't register itself once cx88_alsa takes over the first asound slot...


Actually I have SB Live on my Asus P5AD2 and when I do :
> cat /proc/asound/devices

I get:

0: [ 0] : control
1: : sequencer
4: [ 0- 0]: hardware dependent
6: [ 0- 2]: hardware dependent
8: [ 0- 0]: raw midi
9: [ 0- 1]: raw midi
10: [ 0- 2]: raw midi
16: [ 0- 0]: digital audio playback
18: [ 0- 2]: digital audio playback
19: [ 0- 3]: digital audio playback
24: [ 0- 0]: digital audio capture
25: [ 0- 1]: digital audio capture
26: [ 0- 2]: digital audio capture
33: : timer

_________________
____________________________
The reasonable man adapts himself to the world;
The unreasonable man persists in trying to adapt the world to himself.
Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man. (George Bernard Shaw)
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden MSN Messenger  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
spottyrover
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 15.09.2006, 13:07 Uhr



Anmeldung: 11. Apr 2005
Beiträge: 137

thanks kenyee for the info
first i will try to blacklist it and see if i can still get sound for the tv
there must be a way to auto remove modules and load them in the correct order on bootup

thanks

dave
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
kenyee
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 29.09.2006, 18:37 Uhr



Anmeldung: 21. Jan 2006
Beiträge: 185

FYI, this is no longer needed w/ the 2.6.18 kernel. cx88_alsa and snd_hda_intel install cleanly at boot now.
Even my Logitech 4000 webcam and my ASIX gigabit USB adapter work now. Woohoo! Smilie
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Beiträge vom vorherigen Thema anzeigen:     
Gehe zu:  
Alle Zeiten sind GMT + 1 Stunde
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 
 
Deutsch | English
Logos and trademarks are the property of their respective owners, comments are property of their posters, the rest is © 2004 - 2006 by Jörg Schirottke (Kano).
Consult Impressum and Legal Terms for details. Kanotix is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
This CMS is powered by PostNuke, all themes used at this site are released under the GNU/GPL license. designed and hosted by w3you. Our web server is running on Kanotix64-2006.