20.12.2014, 01:11 UhrDeutsch | English
Hallo Gast [ Registrierung | Anmelden ]

Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Autor Nachricht
feffer777
Titel: Samba upgrade makes Mac connection fail *Solved*  BeitragVerfasst am: 13.08.2006, 05:11 Uhr



Anmeldung: 01. Feb 2006
Beiträge: 128
Wohnort: SF Bay area
Yesterdays d-u included upgrades to 5 samba packages. Afterwords, my Mac and Linux/PC couldn't connect using the upgraded Samba. Has anyone else had problems on their LAN after the samba upgrades? Anyone specifically had problems like mine between a kanotix box and a mac? Traurig

Here's what I've done so far. Ping and ssh showed that the ethernet and physical connections were still ok. I didn't see any settings changed in Kcontrol: Samba, except my workgroup name was changed from "MSHOME" to "WORKGROUP". I changed it back, but still no joy. From the mac side trying to mount my kanotix shares gave me, "couldn't be found" errors. I tried to use nfs, but I'm not sure if it's supported on the mac. Also, I booted from the liveCD, and fished around trying to make a lan connection, but didn't really know how to do that. Finally, I restored my last backup (a very good reason to do good backups!), from a week ago and that worked fine. So using the previous samba was fine, but the new one broke my LAN. This may just be a config file getting overwritten or something, but I really don't know.

Until I hear more about this recent samba upgrade, I want to hold this from my upgrades. I read the apt howto about pinning packages in apt/preferences but really didn't understand how to get a "for certain" pin at the current version. For example, how would I modify this code to keep samba at this version?

Code:
Package: samba
Pin: version 3.0.22-1
Pin-Priority: 1001


Or would I be better off using dpkg to hold samba back each time I d-u? Would using, "echo samba hold | dpkg --set-selections" permanently hold samba (until I released it). Is that better than editing apt-preferences?


Thanks,
Ron

_________________
To whom much is given, much shall be required.


Zuletzt bearbeitet von feffer777 am 16.10.2006, 19:20 Uhr, insgesamt ein Mal bearbeitet
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
devil
Titel: Samba upgrade makes Mac connection fail  BeitragVerfasst am: 13.08.2006, 06:27 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 06. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 3087
Wohnort: berlin
ron,
first do:
Code:
 apt-get install samba/testing samba-common/testing smbfs/testing smbclient/testing

then:
Code:
echo samba hold |dpkg --set-selections

no need to play with pinning.

greetz
devil

_________________
<<We are Xorg - resistance is futile - you will be axximilated>>

Host/Kernel/OS "devilsbox" running[2.6.19-rc1-git5-kanotix-1KANOTIX-2006-01-RC4 ]
CPU Info AMD Athlon 64 3000+ clocked at [ 803.744 MHz ]
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
feffer777
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 13.08.2006, 07:11 Uhr



Anmeldung: 01. Feb 2006
Beiträge: 128
Wohnort: SF Bay area
Hi Devil,
OK, I understand "echo samba hold |dpkg --set-selections", but why do this first:

Code:
apt-get install samba/testing samba-common/testing smbfs/testing smbclient/testing


I already have those previous samba packages installed, and they're working fine. Why not just hold them?

Thanks,
Ron

_________________
To whom much is given, much shall be required.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
stryder
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 13.08.2006, 10:55 Uhr



Anmeldung: 26. Jun 2005
Beiträge: 389

Ron, I think devil didn't read the part that says that you have restored a backup system. So just holding them should be fine.

On the other hand, I'm on samba 3.0.23b-1 and my ibook connects via samba just fine. Using, uh, that cat just before tiger - panther, I think. On the other hand I use a small program called 'smb manager' to connect from the ibook. Connecting via finder has always been a pain. Hope this helps.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
slh
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 13.08.2006, 11:27 Uhr



Anmeldung: 16. Aug 2004
Beiträge: 1905

Samba upstream has dropped a previously valid config option with their latest version and made every use of it throw an error. "passdb backend" supports only one argument anymore in /etc/samba/smb.conf.
passdb backend = tdbsam
(perhaps you were using "passdb backend = tdbsam guest" before)
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
feffer777
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 13.08.2006, 19:54 Uhr



Anmeldung: 01. Feb 2006
Beiträge: 128
Wohnort: SF Bay area
Hi Styder,
OK, so you're using the latest samba and it works with your mac. So it must be some kind of config problem happening when I upgrade. Thanks, that narrows it down.

Hi slh,
I looked for the "passdb backend = tdbsam" in /etc/samba/smb.conf and don't see it, unless it involves the "guest ok = yes" lines. Here's my smb.conf:

Code:

[global]
security = share
restrict anonymous = no
domain master = no
preferred master = no

max protocol = NT
ldap ssl = No
server signing = Auto
workgroup = MSHOME

[music]
case sensitive = no
guest ok = yes
msdfs proxy = no
read only = no
path = /media/hdb5/music/
force group = mshome

[HDB5]
path = /media/hdb5/
guest ok = yes
read only = no
hide files = System Volume Information/
case sensitive = no
msdfs proxy = no
force group = mshome

[rp]
path = /home/rp/
guest ok = yes
read only = no
case sensitive = no
msdfs proxy = no
force user = rp


Do you see something I should do differently, to make the update work? I really appreciate the help. My alternative, holding the upgrade, can only be a temporary solution.

Regards,
Ron

_________________
To whom much is given, much shall be required.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
feffer777
Titel: Still confused about Samba Upgrade  BeitragVerfasst am: 17.08.2006, 08:01 Uhr



Anmeldung: 01. Feb 2006
Beiträge: 128
Wohnort: SF Bay area
As explained in my earlier post, the latest samba upgrade prevents me from connecting my kanotix box with my Mac. Since Stryder can connect with a similar setup, the problem must be the way I have samba configured. slh's post seems to indicate that too. Comparing Stryder's smb.conf file to my own doesn't show much difference except that I allow guest login on my lan. Currently, I'm holding samba pkgs from upgrading, but would rather resolve the issue and take them off hold. Since I wasn't able to understand slh's post:

Zitat:
Samba upstream has dropped a previously valid config option with their latest version and made every use of it throw an error. "passdb backend" supports only one argument anymore in /etc/samba/smb.conf.
passdb backend = tdbsam
(perhaps you were using "passdb backend = tdbsam guest" before)


I looked at my smb.conf file. No "passdb backend = tdbsam guest" in there and grep showed no "tdbsam" on my sys. So I googled and got lots of info (too much) from Samba sites, but no clear explanation about what I'm doing wrong. Most of the time I'm quite willing to use trial and error to get the results I want, but in this case if my trial doesn't work, I have to restore from backup. So I want a better idea about what I'm doing wrong, before I try to upgrade samba again.

I've been reading, searching my system and google for 3-4 days now, but only have guesses. Anyone really know what I should do here?

Thanks,
Ron

_________________
To whom much is given, much shall be required.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
devil
Titel: Still confused about Samba Upgrade  BeitragVerfasst am: 17.08.2006, 08:34 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 06. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 3087
Wohnort: berlin
feffer,
yesterdays upgrade had fixed samba packages. so just unhold, upgrade samba and dance away.

greetz
devil

_________________
<<We are Xorg - resistance is futile - you will be axximilated>>

Host/Kernel/OS "devilsbox" running[2.6.19-rc1-git5-kanotix-1KANOTIX-2006-01-RC4 ]
CPU Info AMD Athlon 64 3000+ clocked at [ 803.744 MHz ]
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
feffer777
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 17.08.2006, 19:00 Uhr



Anmeldung: 01. Feb 2006
Beiträge: 128
Wohnort: SF Bay area
Great news, thanks Devil. So the moral is: "if in doubt, wait it out"

Thanks,
Ron Sehr glücklich

_________________
To whom much is given, much shall be required.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
boomshalek
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 17.08.2006, 19:51 Uhr



Anmeldung: 07. Jan 2006
Beiträge: 23

Hi, i've got similar issues with my XP-Client (*.*.*.122) and my Kanotix-Server (*.*.*.120). Samba-Users are System-Users too and have the same names as the XP-Users.
On the Server (Netbios-Name "pundit"):
Code:

smbclient -L localhost -U myusername(s)
Password: XXXX
Domain=[PUNDIT] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.0.23b]
tree connect failed: NT_STATUS_BAD_NETWORK_NAME

smbclient -L pundit -U myusername(s)
gives same output. no syntax-errors in smb.conf.
Strange is, that i still have got one share that works and has the same parameters as the other four non working shares ...
From XP i can't connect to \\(*.*.*.120)\shares neither (only the one mentioned before).
Problem exists since samba 3.0.23b-1, stays in 3.0.23b-2 too.

Code:

 apt-get install samba/testing samba-common/testing smbfs/testing smbclient/testing

works ! (3.0.22-1)
greetings

chris
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
feffer777
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 21.08.2006, 07:15 Uhr



Anmeldung: 01. Feb 2006
Beiträge: 128
Wohnort: SF Bay area
@ boomshalek:
Your problem is of the same sort, but probably unique enough to deserve it's own thread. Winken Might get more looks & responses that way.

Updating to the latest, samba 3.0.23b-2, solved the problem half way. The kanotix box can see and mount my Mac shares, but not the other way around. Since the samba version installed on the Mac is an earlier one, this may be the issue. I've posted about it on the Mac/Unix forum (yes, Apple has one!), so we'll see. In any case, I can move my files between machines again, so resolving the Mac/samba issue isn't urgent.

Regards,
Ron

_________________
To whom much is given, much shall be required.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
bluewater
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 21.08.2006, 09:38 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 04. Apr 2006
Beiträge: 153
Wohnort: Melbourne, Australia
boomshalek

Just check in Control Centre>Internet & Network>File Sharing that the other boxes have access to the partitions or folders you with to share

The Admin Mode button then on the right hand side are 3 buttons , Add ,, Change ,, Remove

_________________
Kanotix Easter RC4 on a dual boot P4 and a production box Desktop KDE::
Kanotix 2006 Easter RC4 on a P2 and Production Box , Desktop KDE::
Kanotix EasterRC4 on a MMX 199Mhz lappy
and a Production Box, Desktop ICEWM::
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
boomshalek
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 21.08.2006, 18:39 Uhr



Anmeldung: 07. Jan 2006
Beiträge: 23

@bluewater
yeah, checked it before posting.
but as i already worte, all shares have the same config (this includes read and write list in smb.conf)
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
josk
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 30.08.2006, 14:19 Uhr



Anmeldung: 30. Mar 2006
Beiträge: 43
Wohnort: HELSINKI
I have same problem with my XP. Upgrade broke my samba shares. Have to try other samba versions to fix this.

EDITED: Downgrade did it. Now it works again.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
feffer777
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 30.08.2006, 21:39 Uhr



Anmeldung: 01. Feb 2006
Beiträge: 128
Wohnort: SF Bay area
I had to downgrade samba as well. Perhaps there's something I didn't try that would get my Mac and Kanotix box talking again, but I haven't found it. I'm using the simple samba "share" method that should be good for a home network, but it doesn't work. Basically, I reverted to samba/testing and put a hold on it as per Devil's earlier post in this thread.

Regards,
Ron

_________________
To whom much is given, much shall be required.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
severin
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 15.10.2006, 18:09 Uhr



Anmeldung: 18. Mar 2004
Beiträge: 3417

try this one: http://kanotix.com/index.php?name=PNphp ... amba+msdfs

_________________
Kein Wort verstanden? Auf http://kanotix.com/index.php?module=pnW ... uerDummies
gibt's ein Glossar.

No clue what I'm talking about? New to Linux? Check http://kanotix.com/index.php?module=pnW ... ForDummies for a glossary.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen ICQ-Nummer 
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
feffer777
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 16.10.2006, 19:13 Uhr



Anmeldung: 01. Feb 2006
Beiträge: 128
Wohnort: SF Bay area
severin,
thanks for the info. I solved my samba connection problem about a week ago with stryder's help (using his smb.conf file), but didn't post because I couldn't figure out which definition change fixed it. Your link suggests that removing,
Zitat:
msdfs proxy = no
fixes it. To test this, I added it to a currently working share and that made the share fail. Removing it allowed the share to work again! So thank you very much; it looks like your suggestion isolates the problem.

To anyone else having a samba problem, please learn from my mistakes. This problem took a long time to resolve, because I used the "shotgun" approach; doing too many things at once. I ended up with a very complicated smb.conf file that was then impossible to troubleshoot. If "testparm" gives you errors, fix those first. If not, try the gui in kde control center. If that doesn't work, check the info on http://kanotix.com/FAQ-myfaq-yes-id_cat-141.html, there is a very simple smb.conf example there. Here is my working smb.conf:
Zitat:

[global]
workgroup = mshome
encrypt passwords = true
log level = 1
max log size = 1000
socket options = TCP_NODELAY IPTOS_LOWDELAY
guest ok = no
wins support = no

[rp]
comment = rp's home
path = /home/rp/
read only = no

[HDB5]
comment = Common Data Partition
path = /media/hdb5
read only = no

[Music]
comment = Common Music Partition
path = /media/hdb5/music
read only = no


As you can see this is very simple as well.
Thanks,
Ron

_________________
To whom much is given, much shall be required.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Beiträge vom vorherigen Thema anzeigen:     
Gehe zu:  
Alle Zeiten sind GMT + 1 Stunde
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 
 
Deutsch | English
Logos and trademarks are the property of their respective owners, comments are property of their posters, the rest is © 2004 - 2006 by Jörg Schirottke (Kano).
Consult Impressum and Legal Terms for details. Kanotix is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
This CMS is powered by PostNuke, all themes used at this site are released under the GNU/GPL license. designed and hosted by w3you. Our web server is running on Kanotix64-2006.