23.09.2019, 12:08 UhrDeutsch | English
Hallo Gast [ Registrierung | Anmelden ]

Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Autor Nachricht
jalil
Titel: Kanotix 2006.01RC4: Internet connection problem.  BeitragVerfasst am: 15.10.2006, 17:15 Uhr



Anmeldung: 01. Okt 2005
Beiträge: 10

Hi,

I have updated my Kanotix 2005.03 system to the newest version 2006.01 RC4 and currently having problem connecting to the internet.

For your information, I am currently connected to the internet using a router (Linksys WRT54G v2.2 with newest firmware) and iconfig -a is as follows:

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:11:09:76:39:B7
inet addr:192.168.1.102 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:55 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:714 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:6220 (6.0 KiB) TX bytes:56851 (55.5 KiB)
Interrupt:161 Base address:0xa000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:118 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:118 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:8172 (7.9 KiB) TX bytes:8172 (7.9 KiB)

I am not sure what to do since the connection to the router seems to be fine. Hope anybody can help me troubleshoot this problem.

Thanks,
Jalil
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
arlekin
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 15.10.2006, 18:14 Uhr



Anmeldung: 21. Jun 2006
Beiträge: 193
Wohnort: Switzerland
Jalil,

what does your /etc/resolv.conf look like? (Just an idea ...)

Birdy

_________________
Arlekin's Dream Ltd. | http://www.arlekin.ch/
- Bernd Villiger et al. | http://www.penguin.ch/
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
ockham23
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 15.10.2006, 18:56 Uhr



Anmeldung: 25. Mar 2005
Beiträge: 2132

Please post output of
Code:
cat /etc/network/interfaces
cat /etc/resolv.conf
Can you ping the router and websites?
Code:
ping 192.168.1.1 -c4
ping 85.10.195.118 -c4
ping kanotix.com -c4
If pinging websites doesn't work: Can you ping 85.10.195.118 from the router's maintenance interface?

_________________
And I ain't got no worries 'cause I ain't in no hurry at all (Doobie Brothers, "Black Water").
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
jalil
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 15.10.2006, 22:53 Uhr



Anmeldung: 01. Okt 2005
Beiträge: 10

Thanks, here's the output:

cat /etc/network/interfaces
# /etc/network/interfaces -- configuration file for ifup(Cool, ifdown(Cool

# The loopback interface
# automatically added when upgrading
auto lo eth0
iface lo inet loopback

# iface dsl-provider inet ppp
# provider dsl-provider

# auto eth0

iface lan0 inet dhcp

iface eth0 inet dhcp


cat /etc/resolv.conf
search
nameserver 202.188.0.133
nameserver 202.188.1.5

I can ping the IP address from my linuxbox except for ping kanotix.com -c4 which I got this error message:

ping: unknown host kanotix.com

The ping 85.10.195.118 from the router's maintenance interface is working properly.

Regards,
Jalil
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
ockham23
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 15.10.2006, 23:47 Uhr



Anmeldung: 25. Mar 2005
Beiträge: 2132

There might be a problem with DNS lookup. The following will add a name server address to resolv.conf and test its functionality:
Code:
su
mcedit /etc/resolv.conf
Replace "search" with "nameserver 217.115.138.24". Press F2 to save, F10 to quit.
Code:
exit
nslookup kanotix.com 217.115.138.24
If it works, you should see something like this:
Code:
einfach@D1607:~$ nslookup kanotix.com 217.115.138.24
Server:         217.115.138.24
Address:        217.115.138.24#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:   kanotix.com
Address: 85.10.195.118
Repeat nslookup with the other two name server addresses from resolv.conf. If they fail, delete them. Finally, you should also add the following line to resolv.conf:
Code:
nameserver 192.168.1.1
It should be there anyway, unless you disabled DHCP on purpose.

_________________
And I ain't got no worries 'cause I ain't in no hurry at all (Doobie Brothers, "Black Water").
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
jalil
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 16.10.2006, 16:04 Uhr



Anmeldung: 01. Okt 2005
Beiträge: 10

Sorry, it's still fails to connect using the above suggestion.

I think it is something to do with the udev thing, since before this using 2005.04, eth0 suddenly becomes lan0 and I understand this is fixed when using the 2006.01RC4.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
jbs1136
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 16.10.2006, 16:35 Uhr



Anmeldung: 15. Jul 2006
Beiträge: 136
Wohnort: Spanaway, Wa
The first thing that I have to do after installing Kanotix is run the Network card and samba configurations provided by Kano on the kanotix menu. I tried using control panel and setting up everything and found that it was easier and quicker to use the scripts provided. They ask a few questions and then everything works. For a newbie like me this great.

John
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
jalil
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 16.10.2006, 17:12 Uhr



Anmeldung: 01. Okt 2005
Beiträge: 10

If you mean netcardconfig, I have already done it.

In the meantime I'm thinking it may also probably due to my recent firmware upgrade on the router to v4.30.5 (previously using v4.20.7 if I'm not mistaken). When using Knoppix 5.0.1 livedvd, I'm still having the same problem connecting to the internet.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
jbs1136
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 17.10.2006, 03:01 Uhr



Anmeldung: 15. Jul 2006
Beiträge: 136
Wohnort: Spanaway, Wa
jalil,

That is what I meant. You are way past my meager knowledge at this point. Hopefully someone more knowledgeable will jump in here.

John
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
ockham23
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 17.10.2006, 07:38 Uhr



Anmeldung: 25. Mar 2005
Beiträge: 2132

If it's a firmware issue, you can either try to downgrade to the previous version or experiment with DD-WRT. It might have support for your Linksys router: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/What_is_DD-WRT%3F

_________________
And I ain't got no worries 'cause I ain't in no hurry at all (Doobie Brothers, "Black Water").
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
jalil
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 18.10.2006, 15:34 Uhr



Anmeldung: 01. Okt 2005
Beiträge: 10

I don't think it's due to the router firmware since the connection is fine when I tested it using the previous version of Kanotix 04/2004 livecd.

I am now narrowing the problem something to do with the udev network device (which I am not sure how to go about solving it), would appreciate for any pointers or helps to solve it.

Thanks,
Jalil
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Beiträge vom vorherigen Thema anzeigen:     
Gehe zu:  
Alle Zeiten sind GMT + 1 Stunde
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 
 
Deutsch | English
Logos and trademarks are the property of their respective owners, comments are property of their posters, the rest is © 2004 - 2006 by Jörg Schirottke (Kano).
Consult Impressum and Legal Terms for details. Kanotix is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
This CMS is powered by PostNuke, all themes used at this site are released under the GNU/GPL license. designed and hosted by w3you. Our web server is running on Kanotix64-2006.