29.07.2014, 04:39 UhrDeutsch | English
Hallo Gast [ Registrierung | Anmelden ]

Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Autor Nachricht
w1av
Titel: h2's script for 2006 rc1  BeitragVerfasst am: 19.10.2006, 13:25 Uhr



Anmeldung: 26. Okt 2005
Beiträge: 146
Wohnort: Out There
I have installed Kanotix 2006 RC1 back about a month ago and also updated to the current kernel at the time. I have not seen any posts regarding problems doing a D/U for this kanotix 2006 RC1. So I am assuming it is safe to go ahead. I want to also upgrade to the latest kernel, 2.6.18.1-rc1-slh-up-1. Everything runs well. Are there any other issues that I am not aware of regarding doing a D/U for Kanotix 2006-01-RC1????

_________________
"Kanotix....what, me worry?!"
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
devil
Titel: h2  BeitragVerfasst am: 19.10.2006, 13:37 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 06. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 3087
Wohnort: berlin
you need to rewinstall ati or nvidia afterwards.

greetz
devil

_________________
<<We are Xorg - resistance is futile - you will be axximilated>>

Host/Kernel/OS "devilsbox" running[2.6.19-rc1-git5-kanotix-1KANOTIX-2006-01-RC4 ]
CPU Info AMD Athlon 64 3000+ clocked at [ 803.744 MHz ]
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
w1av
Titel: h2 script for 2006 rc1  BeitragVerfasst am: 19.10.2006, 15:47 Uhr



Anmeldung: 26. Okt 2005
Beiträge: 146
Wohnort: Out There
you need to rewinstall ati or nvidia afterwards.

OK Devil. I don't use any graphics drivers , just what Kanotix offers when installed. I have an older 64MB off-the-wall video card, a "mag dog" its called. I do have the Windows 3-d driver disk, but I figure I dont need 3-d cause I dont play Games anymore, so I use the card as a standard video card. The only problem I have is the card will not let me be able to view anything on screen if I am in init3. I originally thought it was because my monitor is a flat screen LCD, but its the card. I have to plug in a CRT to do anything requiring init 3. So I When Kanotix boots up, while using the lcd monitor, I dont see any text scroll by. The screen stays black and the monitor power indicator light turns orange....then when kanotix is booted at login my light turns green again. I am due for a new card soon.
Another issue I was worried about with doing a D/ U was if it will mess up my login/splash screen. Right now it is the splash screen with the penguins. It was automatically set up when I upgraded to 2006-1 RC1 and then did a dist upgrade with the H2 script. I also have customized a passworded WinXP section cause I didnt want Winxp as one of the boot choices, but wanted al alternate way to still be able to access Winxp on the rare times I need to. OK so Iam assuming it is reasonably safe to D/U at the moment. I will have to drag my CRT monitor home again! I keep it at work out of the way! w1av Sehr glücklich

_________________
"Kanotix....what, me worry?!"
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
ockham23
Titel: RE: h2 script for 2006 rc1  BeitragVerfasst am: 19.10.2006, 15:57 Uhr



Anmeldung: 25. Mar 2005
Beiträge: 2100

Try cheat code vga=normal instead of vga=791.

_________________
And I ain't got no worries 'cause I ain't in no hurry at all (Doobie Brothers, "Black Water").
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Swynndla
Titel: Re: h2 script for 2006 rc1  BeitragVerfasst am: 19.10.2006, 21:27 Uhr



Anmeldung: 05. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 414
Wohnort: Auckland, New Zealand
w1av hat folgendes geschrieben::
OK so Iam assuming it is reasonably safe to D/U at the moment.

IMHO dist-upgrading is never safe. I would recomend that you don't do it Geschockt

To stay up to date, I would recommend "apt-get upgrade" as opposed to "apt-get dist-upgrade", and upgrading leads to less problems (my opinion). "upgrade" is still risky, but not as risky as "dist-upgrade".

Also, upgrading regularly (eg once a day or once a week) is a lot safer then trying to do one big upgrade or dist-upgrade ... it's really hard to upgrade or dist-upgrade an install that hasn't been upgraded for a year ... lots of things can and do break ... the rules for updating get complex when things are left that long.

If you do want to a full dist-upgrade, then take backups. And use h2's script like you did last time. Some people have two kanotix installs, one as their main install, and one as their test install, that they dist-upgrade on first to see if they're happy with the results. Some people (like me) use a backup system where they can fully restore their root partition and therefore completely "undo" an upgrade or dist-upgrade (see h2's rdiff-backup script).

It's important to ask your self what you'd do if you lose X completely after an upgrade or dist-upgrade ... what would you do? ... could you boot up the live kanotix cd and go into #kanotix on IRC and ask for help?

What happens if an upgrade or dist-upgrade kills your internet connection (like the udev bug a couple of months ago) ... again, make sure you have your live cd handy.

For your screen, if "vga=normal" doesn't work, then backspace the "vga=791" completely, and use no vga setting, and see if that works.

If that still doesn't work, then you could either drag your crt home every month ... or if I was you (and remember I'm a heretic) I'd "apt-get update; apt-get upgrade" every week while X is running! Geschockt ... that's what I do!

_________________
Linux is evolution, not intelligent design - Linus Torvalds
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
h2
Titel: RE: Re: h2 script for 2006 rc1  BeitragVerfasst am: 19.10.2006, 22:56 Uhr



Anmeldung: 12. Mar 2005
Beiträge: 1005

Whatever the case is, upgrade/dist-upgrade, make sure to do it reasonably regularly if you are planning on doing it at all.

When you make your install, also make a decision: do you leave the install basically untouched until the next stable release, at which point you update-install from livecd, or do you keep your system updated by doing regular dist-upgrades?

Remember, while you may say to yourself, ok, I won't upgrade/dist-upgrade, I'll just install programs when I need them, you never know what program will try to pull in all of kde, a new udev/hal, a new xorg, etc. A simple program like flashplugin-nonfree for example will pull in all of hal/udev, all of xorg, etc. So in my opinion, for average users, people who tend to install new stuff routinely when they need it, not doing upgrades of either sort is not a realistic long term option if you are going to use a debian sid based system.

From what I've seen, doing a dist-upgrade somewhere between every 2 and ever 4 weeks is a fairly good and safe practice.

Always check the news page on kanotix.com for warnings and unresolved issues. My script also has current warnings, sometimes before kanotix has them, sometimes after, depends.

So far all my systems work, are up to date, and are all based on 2005-4.

If you don't use du-fixes-h2.sh it's very unlikely your system would still be working in my opinion if you'd been doing dist-upgrades, although if you pay close enough attention to irc and warnings, you should be ok long term, but you can't ever miss anything.

I'm definitely interested in testing the upgrade versus dist-upgrade claims as well, my suspicion is that short term it works as claimed, but long term your system begins to drift further and further from the sid pool, until you have to more and more extreme stuff that might also end up breaking your system.

_________________
Read more on dist-upgrades using du-fixes-h2.sh script.
New: rdiff-backup script
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
w1av
Titel: dist upgrade  BeitragVerfasst am: 20.10.2006, 13:44 Uhr



Anmeldung: 26. Okt 2005
Beiträge: 146
Wohnort: Out There
OK H2 and others...I have a good idea now about the situation. I realize that dist-upgrading an older distribution is riskier than upgrading something more current. I have 2006-1 RC1 installed so I am thinking that it is safe for me to dist-upgrade and upgrade kernel while I am at it.
In September I replaced my Easter Edition with 2006-1 RC1 and also upgraded the kernel, whatever the current one was at the time. So my installation is pretty much current. So it would seem to me that a D/ U would be safe, plus I dont have to deal with any video display drivers.

The other issue with not being able to see any text on screen in init 3 while using my LCD monitor is something I have been plagued with for a long time. I tried all the cheat codes and nothing works. If I use my CRT monitor, init 3 is fine. It is just a hassle to have to switch monitors to do a d/u. I noticed on a spare computer very similar to my regular one, I can see text in init 3 and I checked the video card. It was a better known one, i forget which but it worked fine so that leads me to believe it is the video card in my regular computer that is the problem. But I still dont understand why. Everything else displays fine, I just cant see anything when I switch to init 3, and if I do a ctrl-alt-f1 its the same problem. I did notice if I turn the brightness up all the way I can make out a little of whats on there. I am not that saavy with how monitors display so I am lost as to the problem. Geschockt

_________________
"Kanotix....what, me worry?!"
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Swynndla
Titel: RE: dist upgrade  BeitragVerfasst am: 20.10.2006, 19:31 Uhr



Anmeldung: 05. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 414
Wohnort: Auckland, New Zealand
Are your pc's networked together?

_________________
Linux is evolution, not intelligent design - Linus Torvalds
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
w1av
Titel: woes  BeitragVerfasst am: 23.10.2006, 13:42 Uhr



Anmeldung: 26. Okt 2005
Beiträge: 146
Wohnort: Out There
Hi swynndla...no my desktop & laptop are not networked, but I have in past used ssh to link them to transfer files. Laptop is usually in the bag unless I need it for something.

_________________
"Kanotix....what, me worry?!"
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
LinuxGeek
Titel: RE: woes  BeitragVerfasst am: 02.12.2006, 21:34 Uhr



Anmeldung: 24. Okt 2004
Beiträge: 39

dist-upgrading can be dangerous, but h2's script helps a lot (thanks h2). I've successfully dist-upgraded two installations of 2006.1 RC1 this last week and a much older 2005-4 successfullly. The only issues that I ran into were 2005-4 related (there were 2 issues but they took me about 15 minutes to resolve). But because it was my work laptop, I made a dd copy before trying the dist-upgrade just in case. You never know what can happen.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Mike Shepard
Titel: RE: woes  BeitragVerfasst am: 12.01.2007, 12:16 Uhr



Anmeldung: 20. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 250

Here's a long shot to your text display problem but is there a internal video card also? If so, is it disabled in the bios? I've seen similar problems when the latter is the case. The computer tries to run in a clone monitor mode, using both cards and the whole boot sequence is blocked out on the additional video card/monitor till the gui starts. Thought I'd post that just in case it helps.

Cheers,
Mike

_________________
"It's 106 miles to Chicago, we've got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it's dark, and we're wearing sunglasses." -The Blues Brothers (1980)
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
w1av
Titel: OK then  BeitragVerfasst am: 29.03.2007, 13:47 Uhr



Anmeldung: 26. Okt 2005
Beiträge: 146
Wohnort: Out There
OK then, so I am assuming that its safe to do the apt-get upgrade. I just remember in the past there were always warnings not to do it cause of problems. I never had a problem with H2's scripts, but he is no longer here. I will apt-get upgrade and cross my fingers. I did try SIDUX but things are not where I can find them, like locations for certain files so I rather stay with Kanotix cause it has worked for me all this time. Sehr glücklich

_________________
"Kanotix....what, me worry?!"
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Daddy-G
Titel: RE: OK then  BeitragVerfasst am: 29.03.2007, 14:52 Uhr



Anmeldung: 01. Mar 2005
Beiträge: 1411

A dist-upgrade from 2005-4 is not possible. With 2006-01RC it should work.
Perhaps it would be better to change the sources to testing or etch, if you haven't.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Beiträge vom vorherigen Thema anzeigen:     
Gehe zu:  
Alle Zeiten sind GMT + 1 Stunde
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 
 
Deutsch | English
Logos and trademarks are the property of their respective owners, comments are property of their posters, the rest is © 2004 - 2006 by Jörg Schirottke (Kano).
Consult Impressum and Legal Terms for details. Kanotix is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
This CMS is powered by PostNuke, all themes used at this site are released under the GNU/GPL license. designed and hosted by w3you. Our web server is running on Kanotix64-2006.